top of page

Animal Book Recommendations (with a bonus list)

Calling all animal lovers! Today’s book recommendations are all about animals. Nature is truly beautiful, and one of my favorite things about it is the animals. (I’m definitely not a fan of the bugs) Whether it’s sea life, or forest critters, keep reading to find a lovable animal story.


RECOMMENDED ANIMAL BOOKS:

  • A Dog’s Purpose- This is one of my favorite books. I even love the movie based off of it. It would definitely be in my top 10. This book will make you cry, but it will also make you laugh as you enjoy the antics of Bailey the dog. This book is written by W.Bruce Cameron and it’s about a remarkable dog named Bailey who searches for his purpose over the course of several lives. From the moment he was born into the loving arms of Ethan, Bailey wonders why he is here. And then he knows. He is meant to be with Ethan. But when Bailey is separated from him and reborn he goes on an amazing journey to find out who he is meant to be. This book is humorous and interesting and lovable. Other dog books by this author include: A Dog’s Way Home, A Dog’s Journey, A Dog’s Promise, The Dogs of Christmas, and more.

  • The One and Only Ivan-  This book won the Newbery Award. I read it back in third grade, and I loved it. All types of readers will enjoy this book by Katherine Applegate. She is a very talented author and I love and admire her style of writing. Ivan is an easy going gorilla. He lives at the Exit 8 Big Top Mall and Video Arcade, and has therefore grown used to humans looking at him through the glass. Ivan is content watching tv and making art, until he meets Ruby the baby elephant. Ivan’s life is about to change, whether he likes it or not. Another great animal book by Katherine Applegate is Wishtree. It’s about a tree and the animal’s lives within it. If you’re a fan of The One and Only Ivan, then I’d definitely recommend this book as well. 

  • The Art of Racing in the Rain- This book by Garth Stein, is similar to A Dog's Purpose. It also has a movie recently made after it. (With Milo Ventimiglia in it!) It’s about a dog named Enzo who knows he is different. Instead of chasing cars, he wants to race them, thanks to his race car driver owner, Denny. Enzo and Denny go through life side by side and have many adventures and challenges together. This book is moving and sad and funny, destined to make you laugh and want a little Enzo of your own. There is also an adapted version for young readers called Racing in the Rain.

  • Snowman: the true story of a champion- This book by Catherine Hapka is based on a true story. It’s a nonfiction story about a horse named Snowman. When Harry Deleyer bought Snowman on a whim for $80 he initially used him as a lesson horse for children. He sold him to his neighbor soon after. But Snowman had other plans. He continuously hopped the fence to return home. So Harry decided to buy Snowman back and train him to be a show jumper. Harry and Snowman went on to win competition after competition. This is the story of a remarkable companionship between a man and his horse.


This would normally be the time when I would conclude a post but guess what? Today I’m going to include a bonus genre list for you guys. And I mean it when I say guys because this genre is all about sports! (Not that girls can’t like sports too, it’s just most of these are about football, and honestly that’s the one sport I, as a girl, do not understand at all) The reason I didn’t include this list as its own post is because I have never read any of these sports books, but I didn’t want to leave this genre out! So I researched some popular sports books for teens and used my knowledge of what the guys at my school typically read and put together a list for you readers. Since I don’t really know anything about these books, having never read them myself, I decided I would just include the title instead of my usual summary and review. From basketball to baseball to football to track to mountain climbing, this list has many activities for you guys to read about and enjoy. So let’s get on with the recommendations! 


RECOMMENDED SPORTS BOOKS: 

  • Ghost by Jason Reynolds (Track, #1) Other books in this series include: Patina, Sunny, and Lu.


  • Peak by Roland Smith (Peak, #1) Other books in this series include: The Edge, Ascent, and Descent


  • The Crossover (The Crossover, #1by Kwame Alexander. Other books in this series include: Booked and Rebound


  • Any books by Tim Green: Some of his books include: Football Genius (Football Genius, #1), Unstoppable, and Baseball Great (Baseball Great, #1)


I hope you guys liked this post! Hopefully you enjoyed the additional bonus recommendations as well. If you want, be sure to check out the Warriors series as well. They are very popular books about cats that are almost always checked out at my school. All of these books I’d definitely recommend. They are very popular, esteemed, well loved books that will keep readers engaged and won’t disappoint you. That’s all for today, I’ll see you guys tomorrow! 



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Help Books for Teens + Fudge Recipe!!

Hello everybody!!! Right now I am in the car with my grandparents, on the way to my cousin’s house in Georgia!! If you don’t know, my cousin Kenna lives there and I decided to travel with my grandpare

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page