top of page

Books, Books, Books

Updated: Nov 4, 2020

Hi readers! Welcome back to my blog, take some time to explore my recent posts and continue reading for an inside scoop of my favorite books and a little extra intel on my personal favorite reading app. 


So I hope you guys have been having a good summer! What with all the coronavirus stuff that has been happening, my summer life has been pretty chill. I’ve been having to find new ways to enjoy myself, and let’s face it, sometimes we have to get a little creative. 


Recently I’ve really been liking scrapbooking, exercising, watching tv, going outside, and of course, reading. Right now I’m currently reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. If you don’t know, I’ve already read this series, and I loved it. But since then, my memory has been fading and I don’t remember much about the series. So I decided that this summer, I would add “Re-read Harry Potter series” to my summer bucket list. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is the fourth book out of the seven book series, and is tied with The Chamber of Secrets as my favorite Harry Potter book. So I’m super excited to read it; I just started it today.


For more information on the Harry Potter series, check out my Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone book review. If you’re looking into reading the series,which you totally should, it will help you make your decision. Speaking of book reviews, I’ve been really wanting to make some more for you guys. The reason why I haven’t really been able to write book review posts at the time is because I’m reading a series, as you already know, and I wanted to give you guys a little diversity. Posting reviews on continuous books out of a long series might get a little boring. That’s just my opinion, but if you guys want to hear Harry Potter reviews, contact me or comment below. Once I’m done with this series I plan on reading some other books (it’s a surprise) that I’ll definitely do a review on, so you guys have that to look forward to in the future. 


I also wanted to say that a new show on Netflix was released today! I have been waiting for it to come out ever since I saw the trailer. It’s called Down to Earth with Zac Efron and I literally am so excited! I’ve already watched the first episode, Iceland, and I gotta say it does not disappoint.


Before we get on with this post I wanted to talk a little bit about my favorite book app. I know there are a lot of readers out there, and you guys might be wondering if there’s an app out there that can fit all your reading needs. Well, there actually is! You guys might be really happy right now to hear this. I know I was, I mean an app that can open your eyes to countless books and tracks your reading?! 


It’s called GoodReads. I use it all the time. Here is basically the entire spiel of what GoodReads can do: Goodreads can- show you your reading progress of a book, create lists such as “Want to read” or “Read”, set yearly reading goals, connect you to more readers,keep track of every single book you have read and when, and show you literally every book out there so that you can see if you want to read it or not.


I love this app because it helps me organize all of my reading. It honestly is a great app, it’s free, and I know all you readers out there will appreciate it.


Moving on, today I want to share with you guys my ultimate, and I mean, ultimate, absolutely favorite books of all time list. So basically I’m just going to list them and give you my opinion, and I hope you agree! Over the years this list might change, but for right now, these are the best books I have ever read:


  • Divergent by Veronica Roth ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ I love this book because the concept is really great and it keeps me interested the whole time, especially when Four is around.


  • Never Evers by Lucy Ivison and Tom Ellen ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This one is amazing, because of the feeling it gives you, like you are with Jack and Mouse in the mountains as well. It’s also super relatable, funny, and charming.

  • Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This book is one of those ones where it’s really sad, but that is what makes it good. Its really cool to transport back in time to the 1940’s and this book is really interesting and engaging.

  • The Selection Series by Keira Cass ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I love this book because of the romance and of course the dystopian vibe. I love all the characters, especially Prince Maxon. I’ve heard that this book might turn into a movie by Netflix, so keep your fingers crossed!

  • Absolutely Truly by Heather Vogel Frederick ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I love the setting of this book more than anything and I really like how relatable it is. It also really keeps me waiting till the end because of the mystery factor.

  • Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

This series is amazing, for it tells what it’s like to be a girl, while at the same time giving us an awesome spy feel as well.


A lot of these books aren’t really popular. Well I mean Divergent and The Selection are, but the rest are just books that I really, really enjoyed. And they might not be as popular as others, but they just give me this feeling when I read them that is just as good. This list is also really diverse. And I didn’t plan that, I just picked the books that really stuck out to me off of the top of my head. I really like reading different genres, because to me, just reading one genre is impossible, and frankly, kind of boring. 


This list is definitely shorter than others I have made in the past, but trust me, these books are amazing, and they are the ultimate list.


Finally, here is one more list, except this one is opposite the one above. This is my “Books I really do not like and would rather not talk about list.” I’m sorry if this offends anybody, I’m just being honest when I say I really don’t like these:


  • Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli ⭐️⭐️

I know this book is loved by a lot out there, and don’t get me wrong, the story was...okay, but honestly I think the reason why I really didn’t like this book was the author. The way he wrote the book made it hard for me to understand the characters. There wasn’t much intrigue at all, and it really was more of explaining how the characters felt than actually telling the story. I didn’t really understand the ending and the whole concept was kind of vague.


  • Cheese by Sarah Weeks ⭐️

Though I loved her previous books, Honey and Pie, this book really didn’t do it for me, and I think the main reason was because of my age. I went into this book about a year ago expecting it to be like Pie and Honey, but it was really different and younger. I definitely think younger kids would enjoy this, but I just didn’t like it.


  • The Doldrums by Nicholas Gannon ⭐️⭐️

Okay, this book is definitely one of my least favorites. It was overall really boring. I don’t know, maybe I was too young for it, but it’s about a boy who talks to stuffed animals so…


  • Unfriended by Rachel Vail ⭐️

Hands down my least favorite ever, Unfriended was full of grammar mistakes and drama that gave me anxiety. The ending was not sufficient, and the characters were not well developed. The main character does not get the ending she deserves, which was what really made me mad. 


  • Crossed by Ally Condie ⭐️⭐️ 

The second book of the Matched series, this book is what really brought the series down. Matched and Reached would have been enjoyable, but due to this book, I cannot give them my full appreciation. Overall all this book was a real struggle to get through and while some parts were good, most were just confusing.


So I hoped you guys learned something from this post and maybe want to try a new book. I’m sorry about my little rant session above, but hopefully my least favorite books serve as a fair warning of what you’re about to get into if you consider reading them. 😂 Keep reading, and I’ll see you guys next time! (Imma bout to watch me some Zac Efron hehe 😜) 



17 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Help Books for Teens + Fudge Recipe!!

Hello everybody!!! Right now I am in the car with my grandparents, on the way to my cousin’s house in Georgia!! If you don’t know, my cousin Kenna lives there and I decided to travel with my grandpare

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page