top of page

Chick-Lit Book Recommendations

Updated: Jun 2, 2020

Hey guys! Or should I say girls? Today’s post is all about books girls like, aka, chicklit. Chick lit is mostly about romance and best friends, topics girls tend to like more than boys. So if you’re a girl, grab your reading socks and get cozy, because I have ALOT of books for you.

CHICK-LIT BOOK RECOMMENDATIONS:

Gallagher Girls series- If you’re a girl but you‘re tired of reading all about boys (how ironic is that) then this is the series for you. It’s another one by Ally Carter, who I mentioned in my action/adventure post (you should go check that out by the way). Ally Carter likes to write books about spies and action, but all of her books are centered around girls. Gallagher Girls is about a prestigious school called the Gallagher Academy. It might look like a normal boarding school from the outside, but it’s more than meets the eye. In fact, it’s a school for spies. Girl spies. In it you can find main character Cammie Morgan and her best friends and join them in their many spy adventures. The reason I included this as chick lit and not embassy row is because it has way more romance, but like I said, it’s not all about boys. It is still very adventurous and fun.

Books by Kasie West- Okay guys, I’m not kidding when I say Kasie West is probably the best chick lit writer for teens. She has so many books, but they‘re not in a series, so if you’re not looking for a long book commitment, these are for you. I love Kasie West and anything she writes. All of her books are centered around a young romance but they’re still really light and fun. You can also find friendship and family in her books as well. Some titles include: The fill in boyfriend, Love, life, and the list, The distance between us, Maybe this Time, and so much more. Definitely go check her out if you’re looking for a fun romance novel.

All American Girl- I haven’t read this book in a while, but when I did I remember loving it. I think this book is what really got me into chick lit and will definitely get you into it too if you try it. It’s by Meg Cabot, author of the Princess Diaries, which is another great chicklit series you should try. Anyway, this book has a sequel which I haven’t read yet but feel free to read it as well! This book is about a girl who saves the president’s life and the events that follow. She falls in love, I’m not saying with who because that would spoil it but I’m just letting you guys know that is has plenty of romance along with everything else. This book is really great, and its also really fun and humorous.

Never Evers- My favorite book of all time! I’m pretty sure I’m going to do a book review on this one, so I’m not going to give away too much right now, but just know that this book is amazing and I don’t care what anyone else says; I love it! It’s by Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison. It‘s about two school field trips to the mountains. One school for boys and one for girls. You know what comes next: romance, friendship, and a new one, sports. You can expect a lot of skiing in this book and also ballet! This book is perfect for anyone of any age and I definitely recommend it. This book is also the only book that I have read 3 times!

Jessica Darling’s It List- If you guys have Netflix, you’re probably all familiar with this movie. But did you know there‘s a book? In fact, there’s three for tweens and some more for adults, so there‘s actually a lot of these books! They are by Megan Mccafferty and they are about main character Jessica Darling and her time in middle school. This book is actually not really about romance! Instead, it’s more about friendship than anything else. I love these books and any middle school girl can definitely relate to them.

To All The Boys trilogy- These books are a little bit older than the previous ones, but they are just as good, if not better. They are by Jenny Han and once again, if you have Netflix, you are probably very familiar with the movies. However every good reader knows the books are always better lol. 😉 This one is about high schooler Lara Jean. When her old love letters mysteriously get sent out, Lara is sure her life is over. However, one boy might be falling for her... This book is a great romance. Read it to find out who will win Lara Jean’s heart. In this book you can find romance, friendship, family, and culture. It’s definitely one of my favs! (I know I know basically every book is my favorite but still)

Dork Diaries- These books are great for any girl. They are a bit younger, so I feel like even 5th graders will love this series by Renee Russel. There are a lot of books, but they are quick reads because they are written as if Nikki Maxwell was writing in her own diary. There are a lot of fun pictures and drawings along with quizzes and drama. I feel like every girl on the planet relates to Nikki a little bit and that’s why I love this series about a middle school girl and her troubles, love life, friendships, family, life, chaos, and drama. This series is amazing because it has a little bit of everything!

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants- I feel like I keep switching from a younger book to an older book to a younger book to an older book so please bear with me. This is yet another series for older girls. I’m currently reading the 3rd book out of 5 but it definitely needs to be on this list because it is a chick lit must read. These books were written in the very early 2000s so it feels like I’m being transported to another era every time I open the book. But if you’re like me than you find it all fascinating and really interesting. There are two movies from this series, probably because they were such a big deal a while ago. They really are amazing books and though they are chicklit they really are more about friendship than anything else. As you travel with the pants from Bridget to Carmen to Tibby to Lena you will feel connected to each one and feel truly inspired by their amazing friendship. I love this book series and if you read it then you will too.


I think this is the most recommendations in one post I’ve ever done! It’s probably because I read so much chick lit lol. Like I said, this was a long post (just wait until fantasy and dystopian) so if you guys, I mean girls, stuck with me good for you! And hopefully you were inspired to read at least one of these books. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed; they really are great. Chicklit often has a bad rep for being too girly or being all about boys but I think it’s unfair to judge it like that because there is so much more than cheesy romance if you find the right ones. And so what if you like cheesy romance? You shouldn’t let people judge you for liking what you like and being you. So keep reading chicklit. Why not try these suggestions while you’re at it? On a side note, I asked this yesterday but I’ve been doing a lot of recommendations lately and if you guys are getting burned out comment below! I have a lot of other non book ideas I have in mind, like puppy tricks, or some recipes, so if that’s what you guys want, let me know! I‘d really appreciate the feedback. So that’s all for today, if you guys liked this post, give it a heart, and I’ll see you guys tomorrow. Bye! 😘




21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Help Books for Teens + Fudge Recipe!!

Hello everybody!!! Right now I am in the car with my grandparents, on the way to my cousin’s house in Georgia!! If you don’t know, my cousin Kenna lives there and I decided to travel with my grandpare

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page