top of page

Dystopian Favorites

If you asked me what my favorite book genre is I would probably say either Chick Lit or Dystopian. If you don’t know what dystopian books are, they are books (of course) that take place in a futuristic society in which the government is corrupt in some way. They have become very popular in the last decade, more so with teens than any other age, and today I’m going to share with you popular dystopian books and series that you need to go read right now. 


RECOMMENDED DYSTOPIAN:

  • The Hunger Games- The Hunger Games is the trilogy that got me into Dystopian. It was my first Dystopian book and it literally changed my life. It’s by Suzanne Collins. These books are about a teen, Katniss Everdeen. When Katniss takes her sister’s place in the deadly Hunger Games, she must fight to survive, while the rest of society watches the gruesome events from their living room, cheering on those they favor, and leaving the ones they don’t to die. This book is a riveting and engaging story. You won’t be able to put it down, and once you finish, you won’t be able to put down any other Dystopian book. I’d recommend this trilogy to middle schoolers and above.

  • Divergent- Even though the Hunger Games was one of the best books I’ve ever read, the Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth still takes the cake at number one. Maybe it’s because I like the concept better. Basically, main character Beatrice Prior lives in a world where people are separated into factions, based on their dominant trait. So if you are smart, you would take a test and most likely be placed in Erudite. If you never lie, Candor. If you’re selfless, Abnegation. If you cherish peace above all, Amity. If you’re brave, Dauntless. However, Beatrice doesn’t fit into any one of those categories, which makes her dangerous. It makes her Divergent. I found that whole plot line very interesting. It makes me wonder, what faction would I be placed in? I’d like to think I’m Divergent, but sometimes… I don’t know lol. Another reason why I might have liked Divergent better was because of Four. To clear up any confusion, yes, Four is a person, despite the weird name. But yes, he is definitely one of my favorite characters ever and you’ll see why when you read the book. Also, even though this is a trilogy, which means there are three books in the series, there is an additional book called Four, which is basically just Divergent told from Four’s point of view. I’d definitely recommend it as well. Oh yeah, this is really important though, do not start this series if you cannot handle the emotional distress it causes. Trust me, it gets really intense. Ok, moving on now. 

  • The Selection- I love this series so much! I’m planning on re-reading it this summer, and I rarely re-read books, so that’s got to tell you something. This is another trilogy, but it’s so good. It’s written by Kiera Cass. It’s about a girl named America, who lives in a society where they rank you due to your wealth and status. So if you are very rich you would be a Two. (The One’s are reserved for the royal family) If you are very poor, you would be an Eight. America is a Five. Unfortunately for her, she is eligible to be a candidate on The Selection, a competition held at the castle to determine who will marry the prince. Worst of all, her mother wants her to go, to take her shot and help bring the family out of poverty. So begrudgingly, America signs up for The Selection… and is chosen to compete. Any other girl would be screaming up and down with joy for the chance to marry or even just see, the prince. But not America. However, she will do whatever it takes to help her family and get her mother off her back. Especially after a bad breakup with her boyfriend. Soon America finds herself competing with girls to win the heart of a boy. I love this series because it is like a combo of my two favorite genres, Chicklit and Dystopian. It is mostly a series for girls, but if boys want to read it too, go ahead. Definitely recommended to middle schoolers and above. 

  • Brave New Girl- This series by Rachel Vincent is only two books, but is just as good as the others. It’s about a girl who lives in a world where people are cloned and controlled by the government. Still, young Dahlia wonders what goes on behind the walls. Could she be flawed? No one else seems to have these thoughts… go check this book out to find out what happens in Dahlia’s world. It can be sometimes boring, but it is still a clever concept and it has some romance. 

  • The Giver- This book should be considered a classic, in my opinion. Maybe it is already, but whatever the case, you need to read this book. It is destined to bring you intrigue and joy but also sadness and grief. It is written by Lois Lowry, and it is beautifully written. Even if you are not a dystopian fan, I feel like everyone in the world needs to read this book. From what I know, it has others after it. I haven’t read them, but my friends tell me they are not as good anyway, and you don’t necessarily need to read them. This was like the first original dystopian books, and I’m telling you guys, you need to read it. It will change your view on life, so definitely check it out. 

  • Arc of a Scythe series- The only reason why I am recommending this book is because it is loved by literally everyone else but me. In my opinion, it seemed a little gory, with people called ‘Scythes’ running around and killing people, and at times boring, but the mass majority of people love this series, so if you think you might like it, don’t let me stop you from reading it! It is written by Neal Shusterman and there are three books total: Scythe, Thunderhead, and The Toll. 


I hope you guys enjoyed these recommendations. Some were a little long, I know, but it’s just because I love Dystopian so much! But hey, I understand it’s not everyone’s thing, so if these don’t sound interesting to you, please stay tuned until tomorrow, when I have another recommendation post waiting for you! All you Scythe lovers, please don’t hate me lol! I hope you readers are inspired to try at least one of these books (I promise they won’t let you down.) They are perfect for any middle schooler or above. Ok well I’ll see you guys tomorrow! Bye!👋



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Help Books for Teens + Fudge Recipe!!

Hello everybody!!! Right now I am in the car with my grandparents, on the way to my cousin’s house in Georgia!! If you don’t know, my cousin Kenna lives there and I decided to travel with my grandpare

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page