top of page

Graphic Novel Faves

When it comes to graphic novels, there are so many books to choose from. It’s a hard selection. Graphic novels are loved by so many and offer a different form of reading that many teens prefer. What is a graphic novel? A graphic novel is like a book, but significantly shorter and (my favorite part) has pictures! There are many different types of these books, but most of them include lots of color. If reading long books just isn’t for you, then you’ll love this engaging alternative. Actually, anybody will enjoy these books! They are fun and light and perfect for anyone. Now, I am a girl, so a lot of these books below are typically preferred by girls rather than boys. But feel free to read whatever you want! Ok, let’s get on with the recommendations. 


RECOMMENDED GRAPHIC NOVELS: 

  • The Babysitter’s Club- Did you know this series is actually based off of a non-graphic novel series? I didn’t until recently! Turns out the OG ones are from around the 80’s and there’s so many of them. But yeah, go check those out if you’re a fan of this series. Anyway, this 8 book series is definitely one of my faves. It is by Gale Gillian and it’s about a group of friends who form a ‘babysitters club.’ Over the years, they have many adventures together and form a lifelong friendship. Great series for middle schoolers.

  • Smile series- You’ve probably heard of this three book series by now. The author, Raina Telgemeier is kind of popular in the graphic novel world. So is this series! Smile is one of the best graphic novel books for teens, and you’ll love it’s companions, Sisters and Guts as well. They are about young Raina and her time in middle school. These books are really relatable and will make you laugh. If you like Raina Telgemeier be sure to check out her other books, Ghosts and Drama as well!

  • Berrybrook Middle School series- This trilogy by Svetlana Chmakova started with Awkward. When it first came out, readers loved the amazing pictures and graphic design and of course, main character Penelope! Since then Brave and Crush have come out, all following students at Berrybrook Middle School. Young readers will definitely enjoy this fun and relatable series. (Not to brag or anything, but I also have to bookmark!!😆)

  • Click- Written by Kayla Miller, this is yet another love able middle school series determined to make readers feel like they are going on an adventure with the main character Olive. There is a new one called Camp in this series that I just recently read. I think it was even better than the first! These books are a little bit more on the younger kids side, but I still enjoy them, so you guys should too!

  • Pumpkinheads- This is my absolute favorite graphic novel. Even though it’s a Halloween book, both times I have read it have not been around Halloween time. I rarely re-read books, and I’ve read this one twice, so that’s got to tell you something! But seriously, this book is amazing and if you aren’t interested in any of the others then at least try this one! Trust me, you will love it. It’s about two pumpkin patch employees, Deja and Josiah, and their nostalgic last night at the patch before college. It’s written by Rainbow Rowell, and the amazing drawings are by Faith Erin Hicks. This book is realistic, and it has friendship and romance in it. While Click was more for younger readers, this one is a little bit older, and appeals to middle school and above. I love this book and you will too if you give it a try!

  • Real Friends- This is another younger kids book, and it’s written by Shannon Hale. It’s about young Shannon and the friendship drama she has to go through during her middle school years. (We’ve all been there) There is a sequel called Best Friends if you loved this one, so make sure to check it out as well!

  • Invisible Emmie series- There are four books total in this series by Terri Libenson, and I honestly don’t know which one is my favorite! They are all really good. Invisible Emmie is the first one and it’s about a girl named Emmie who is quiet, shy, and artistic, and a girl named Katie who is popular, outgoing, and athletic. One day their paths that normally would never have crossed,intersect when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. I love these books because there is always a surprise at the end. Like you reach the end and then Bam! plot twist that you never saw coming. The drawings are also really clever. Anyone of any age will enjoy these books. The others are: Positively Izzy, Just Jaime, and Becoming Brianna.


That’s all for this post! It seems like every book I recommended was about a middle school girl lol. But you should definitely try at least one of these books because they are really popular and loved and destined to make you feel happy. This whole recommendation series is to help you guys branch out and try new genres, so even if you think graphic novels aren’t your thing, why not give them a try? They are actually pretty short and they will help you be more well rounded. If you’re a boy and looking for a good graphic novel I have some in mind that I didn’t include because I haven’t actually read them, but they have good reviews. They include: New Kid, Class Act, and the Amulet series. I hope you guys liked this post and I’ll see you tomorrow, byee! 👋

26 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Help Books for Teens + Fudge Recipe!!

Hello everybody!!! Right now I am in the car with my grandparents, on the way to my cousin’s house in Georgia!! If you don’t know, my cousin Kenna lives there and I decided to travel with my grandpare

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page