top of page

Mystery Recommendations

Updated: Jun 2, 2020

Eyyo and welcome back to my blog! If you're new here, be sure to check out my other posts. You can either read about my life, or you can tune in to my book recommendation series. Today is all about mysteries. So get your detective hat on and grab your magnifying glass, because it's about to get mysterious.


MYSTERY BOOK RECOMMENDATIONS:

  • Absolutely Truly series- I'm not lying when I say this is one of my favorite series of all time. I'll admit, I haven't read them in a while, but I will soon because the author, Heather Vogel Frederick, has a new one coming out this summer! It's called Really Truly, so if you're also a fan of this series, go check it out! This book is about awkward middle schooler, Truly, and her group of friends. Together they must solve mysteries in their little town called Pumpkin Falls, and discover truths about themselves and their family. This is a really fun book destined to make you wish that you lived in Pumpkin Falls yourself.

  • A series of Unfortunate Events- This series is the epitome of a mystery sequence. It is full of so many secrets, it's hard to keep track! This series will keep readers always wondering what will happen next. Along with the fact that there are surprises on every page, the author, Lemony Snicket, wrote the book so cleverly, you won't be able to put it down. What is it about? This 14 book series follows three Baudelaire orphans, and their troubles caused by the infamous Count Olaf. This series is often humorous and will definitely keep readers engaged. It is definitely one of my favorites. (I know I say that a lot but it's true!)

  • Since You've Been Gone- My first stand-alone book recommendation! This book is perfect for the title. I admit, I was a little intimidated by the many chapters and nearly 500 pages, but they surprisingly went by fast! This was probably due to the fact that this book keeps readers engaged from the way the chapters were titled and written, or because we are all dying to know what happened to Sloane. When the main character, Emily, finds out her best friend, Sloane, is missing, leaving only a list behind, she's determined to find her. That means she has to do the outrageous things on the list, but that doesn't bother Emily. She will do whatever it takes to get her best friend back, even if it means she has to branch out and do things she would normally never, ever, do. The chapters are all titled as things on the list, which I liked. Also, Emily shows some major character development by the end, which was good writing on Morgan Matson's part. This is a highly enjoyable book, and even if it's not as mysterious as the others recommendations, it definitely kept me wondering.

  • One of Us Is Lying- This book is definitely pure mystery. Well, it does have other things included like school, friendship, family, and romance, but it is mainly, mystery. This book is written by Karen M. McManus, who also wrote Two Can Keep A Secret, another great mystery novel, and the sequel to One of Us Is Lying, which is called One of Us Is Next. These books are about the Bayview High school and the dark secrets that go on within it. It started with a gossip app. The next thing you know, four high schoolers are being accused of murder, and no one knows who to trust. If you're a hard core mystery person, you need to read this book and it's sequel. Trust me, you won't be disappointed.


Thank you guys so much for reading yet another of my book recommendation posts. I hope they inspire you to pick up a book every now and again and hopefully find the right books for you. If you don't feel like reading any mystery books, that's okay, I have many more genre book lists for you guys! On a side note, if you guys wan't to read something a little different, and you're getting a little burned out on books recommendations, comment down below! I've been thinking about posting some others things and I'd really appreciate the feedback to see what you guys like and don't like. I'll see you next time, bye!!


20 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Help Books for Teens + Fudge Recipe!!

Hello everybody!!! Right now I am in the car with my grandparents, on the way to my cousin’s house in Georgia!! If you don’t know, my cousin Kenna lives there and I decided to travel with my grandpare

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page