top of page

Recommended YA Fiction

Updated: May 30, 2020

Hi readers! Do you have trouble getting into books? It could be because the book you're reading just isn't for you. It's okay, it happens to me all the time. Maybe you just need to branch out, and try a different genre or author that suits you better. That's what this course is for. Today I'm going to be sharing with you one list out of a series of lists personally recommended by me. I'm going to try to post a new genre full of my favorite books every day, so stay tuned to find the right one for you.


Today's list is all about action/adventure books. You might be thinking no way am I reading an adventure book, it's not my style. That was totally me at the beginning of the year. But after some insisting upon from one of my best friends, I decided to give it a try. Since then I have read so many action series, I've lost track of the exact number. I gave these books a try, and so should you. Trust me, you won't regret it.


RECOMMENDED ACTION/ADVENTURE BOOKS:

  • Spy School series- I love this series. It totally changed my view on espionage (which is just a fancy way of saying spy stuff). There are 7 books in this series, all following main character Ben Ripley and his life as a young spy-in-training. In it you can find, action, friendship, mystery, and more. In this book series, you never know what's going to happen. Even if you think you do, you don't, trust me. The author, Stuart Gibbs, will always throw an unexpected curveball, or surprise in there somewhere. This series is super engaging, you won't be able to put it down. My personal favorite books out of this series are probably the fourth one, Spy Ski School, and the sixth one, Spy School Goes South. In case you're wondering, there also is a new book coming out this year that I'm so excited about! It's called Spy School: American Revolution.


  • Mr. Lemoncello's Library- In this series, you can find a little bit of everything. It's super fun, and I would consider it a light read because it is a little bit younger. However, I found it really enjoyable because it is all about the wacky Mr. Lemoncello, and his library. His library isn't just any library though. It's a special one full of games and brain teasers about books, and of course, you can always find main character Kyle Keeley and his friends there. Readers will enjoy all the puzzles and codes author Chris Grabenstein includes in this book series. There's four total books, but there is also a new one coming soon called Mr. Lemoncello and the Titanium Ticket.


  • Embassy Row Trilogy- This series is one of my favorites of all time. Of course I love anything the author, Ally Carter, creates. You'll find many more of her books in this course later on. However, I decided not to include her other trilogy,Heist Society, because it was not as good as I would have liked it to be. But feel free to check it out as well! Back to Embassy Row, this trilogy is about Grace Blakely and her struggle to uncover the past's secrets. Grace lives on Embassy Row, a street filled with many other embassies and nationalities other than America. This series is a real page turner, and you will go on a crazy emotional roller coaster as you discover Grace's secrets with her. (Feel free to contact me if you need any emotional support. Though I'm not a professional therapist, so please don't sue me!) Anyways, I would recommend this series to anyone, but I will say it does lean a little more towards the girl's side. I'm not saying boy's won't enjoy it too, but it does have some things that girl's tend to enjoy more, like a little romance. But don't let anybody tell you what you can or can't read! This series is really great.


  • The Mysterious Benedict Society- I personally haven't read this series, but I've heard it has amazing reviews, and I have read a little bit of the first one, and from what I can grasp, it sound like a really intriguing book series. There are a total of 6 books, all written by Trenton Lee Stewart. This book has mystery and codes, and is overall really clever. This series is definitely on my want-to-read list, and is perfect for anyone. Warning though, they are really long, so if you're looking for a light read, this series probably isn't for you.


  • Lawless trilogy- This trilogy by Jeffrey Salane is about a girl named M (yes,M) who goes to a school on the wrong side of the law. This series is action packed and full of surprises and mystery about one girl's life of crime. This trilogy is a great read and the definition of an action/adventure series.


I hope you guys enjoyed this post and hopefully are determined to read at least one of these recommendations. I'm sorry I didn't include any stand-alone novels, I just felt like these series are the best action/adventure has to offer. If you really want to read a single action book, continue searching! I promise you, there's way more books out there than just this one list. And if you just aren't interested in any of these, don't worry, I have eleven more genres waiting for you! During this time, I'll be posting every day instead of the usual 2 per week because I have so much more books to offer you guys. Until then, keep calm and read on.



22 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Self Help Books for Teens + Fudge Recipe!!

Hello everybody!!! Right now I am in the car with my grandparents, on the way to my cousin’s house in Georgia!! If you don’t know, my cousin Kenna lives there and I decided to travel with my grandpare

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page