top of page

The Best of Classic

Heyy readers and welcome back! If you’re new here, please check out my other posts. You won’t want to miss some great book recommendations. As for today, we’re going to get into some oldies. Classic books are books that have been treasured for a good amount of time. They have been known to be amazing books, one’s that everyone should read. Today I’m going to share with you some of my favorite timeless books. However, most of these books are more geared towards girls rather than boys, but everyone should be able to read a classic if they want to, so don’t let that stop you if this is what you want to read! 


RECOMMENDED CLASSIC BOOKS: 

  • A Little Princess- This book by Frances Hodgson Burnett used to be my favorite for a while when I was younger. I loved the main character, Sara Crewe. The end was so moving. This book is about a girl who’s rich father brings her to Miss Minchin’s Select Seminary for girls. Her schoolmates there admire her for her wealth and beauty, until one day that all changes. Now Sara must live as a servant in the attic and prove what it means to be a real princess. Anybody of any age will love this one of a kind story. It may be a little younger, but it still moves me today. There is also a movie, if you want to check that out, but keep in mind that the books are always better!

  • The Secret Garden- Also written by Frances Hodgson Burnett, many of you are probably already familiar with this book. I know it is one of the most loved books of all time, so definitely give it a try. When I read it at a young age, I thought it was a little hard to follow, so I’d recommend it to 3rd graders and above. There are also many adapted versions for younger readers of both this book and A Little Princess. This book is about an orphan named Mary Lennox who is sent to her uncle’s gloomy manor house. Her time there is spent questioning why things are locked and what is the crying she hears at night? When Mary discovers a secret garden, she’s determined to bring it and the house back to life.

  • Little Women- I just recently watched the new movie of this beloved classic, I admit, before I read the book. However, soon after watching the amazing movie I just had to read it. Written by Loisa May Alcott, Little Women is about a time in the 1800s when four sisters must go on an adventure within themselves and the world around them, while maintaining the close bonds they have between themselves. This is a truly inspiring story about friendship and love perfect for anyone. If you’re not interested in reading a long book, there are adapted versions, one of which is a graphic novel! It’s called Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy and it’s the same concept just it takes place in modern day and the plot is sort of different. I love this rendition. It was so fun and cute. Graphic novel lovers out there will adore it.

  • Little House on The Prairie- I read these books in first grade, but everybody’s reading level is different so read it whenever you would like to. Which you definitely should read this series, it’s actually one of my favorites of all time. It takes place in the 1800s. It’s about a girl, Laura, who is actually the author of the book, Laura Ingalls Wilder! These books are fascinating and heart wrenching at the same time. They will bring you joy and sorrow, but are truly a must read. They are about a girl and her family, and the adventures they have within their beloved homes during a time of homesteading and new beginnings. There are 9 books total so it is kind of a commitment. There also is a television series if you’re interested in that. (Wow did talking about old stuff just make me say television instead of t.v? See what I mean? These books really do change your life! 📺 )


Classic books are amazing. They transport you to another time and help you learn about the world and history. (They are often written in good English as well so you’ll get smarter and most likely have a better grade in ELA.) Hopefully you are inspired to read at least one of these books. If none of these seem interesting then maybe try Anne of Green Gables. The reason I didn’t include it in this list is because I haven’t read it yet, however, I really want to, and I’ve heard it has really good reviews. So try it out! There is also a t.v series on Netflix based off of the series if you want to watch it. Other books I didn’t include on this list are Heidi, Black Beauty, Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn, etc. Seriously, the list goes on and on with classic books and I didn’t want you guys to get bored! But the possibilities are endless for Classic books so try whatever one sticks out to you. Everyone should at least try a classic book because so many people love them, and they’ve been around for ages, so that’s got to tell you something. Stay tuned for another genre list tomorrow if classic isn’t your thing, and I’ll see you guys later. Bye! 

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Help Books for Teens + Fudge Recipe!!

Hello everybody!!! Right now I am in the car with my grandparents, on the way to my cousin’s house in Georgia!! If you don’t know, my cousin Kenna lives there and I decided to travel with my grandpare

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page