top of page

YA Fantasy

Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living.” -Dr. Suess


If you guys haven’t already guessed, today is all about fantasy books! Keep reading for the inside scoop of the very best of wizards, demigods, nymphs, witches, fantastic beasts (haha see what I did there) ,and most importantly, magic. 


RECOMMENDED FANTASY BOOKS:

  • Harry Potter series- This series is easily one of the most read series of all time. If you haven’t heard of it by now you must have been in a coma for the past 30 years, or you live under a rock. (Just kidding lol) In fact, there is a lot of controversy centered around this 7 book series by J.K Rowling, and while most people love it, there are a few who would rather not spend their time reading about wizards and witches and the magical world of Harry Potter. If you are one of those people, feel free to skip ahead. However, I am one of the former. I read this series when I was in third grade, but really, it’s perfect for anyone of any age. Seriously, I know some first graders who have read it! And who can blame them? This series is amazing! It starts with a boy named Harry on his 11th birthday. When he gets a letter (or should I say many letters)  delivered to his house that confirms that he, Harry, is a wizard, and will be able to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and wizardry, he is shocked! Now he must navigate his way around the wizarding world and fight villains with the help of his new friends by his side. If this sounds interesting to you, go check it out! There is also a movie series if you would prefer that, but everyone knows the books are always better! Especially in this case lol. On a side note, I’m planning on re-reading this series this summer. I’m super excited! I’m pretty sure I’ll be reading it when I go to the beach!

  • Land of Stories- This series isn’t as famous as Harry Potter, but it is still just as magical. I will always have a great memory of these books because they really are one of a kind. You definitely won’t want to miss out on these ones. It was engaging and fun and I loved how all of my favorite fairy tales were included in it! This series is called Land of Stories because it is about a fantasy world full of all your favorite stories and nursery rhyme characters. Little red riding hood, Snow White, etc. And for some reason Alex and Connor Bailey find themselves stuck in it! All readers will enjoy this 6 book series by Chris Colfer.

  • Wings of Fire- Are you a fan of mythical beasts and creatures? This is the series for you. It’s by Tui T. Sutherland, and it’s all about Pyrrhia, aka world of dragons. In all of the books there is a map and a dragon guide, which I thought was really cool. These books are really interesting and funny. There are a lot of them, but trust me, they’re worth it. I love all the characters and you will too! If you’re not looking for a long series, there are many graphic novel adaptations as well.

  • Narnia- When was this series written again? I forget. I always assumed they were older books because they are so well loved. They are by C.S Lewis, who I always confuse with Lewis Carroll, who wrote Alice in Wonderland. This series is one of the best fantasy series of all time. They have a little bit of everything in them: romance, friendship, family, magic, royalty, beasts, and wonder. Narnia is a magical place home to a fantasy, medieval, world. It was discovered by 4 siblings, Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy, and together they must go on adventurous voyages and help save Narnia. These stories are wonderful and I will never forget them. They paved the way for other, more modern, fantasy books and series. There are also many movies based on these books.

  • Bridge to Terabithia- This book by Katherine Paterson is actually not part of a series, but it is just as good as the others. It is about a boy named Jess who only wants to be the fastest runner in his grade, but when a girl, Leslie Burke, shows him up, they become friends and together form a magical kingdom of imagination. I read this book a while ago, but I remember that I had many emotions while reading it, the main one being sadness. I don’t remember why, but just know that this is probably a heart wrenching tale, which is most likely what makes it so good. Movie makers out there must have agreed because once again, there is a movie based on this book. 

  • A Wrinkle in Time- You guessed it! Another book that has a movie based on it! Written by Madeleine L’Engle, this book is similar to Narnia. I almost included it in my classic review because well, it is a classic, but it is fantasy and has magic in it, so I included it in this one instead. This book is good, but the only reason I am including it is because it is beloved. However I didn’t really enjoy it because it was really, and I mean really, confusing. Overall I’d only give it 3 stars but if you want, go check it out!

  • Robert Beatty books- Robert Beatty is the author of the Serafina series, and Willa of the Wood. Both are good, though I’m particularly like the Serafina series. There are 4 books total. They are full of magic, though some are more eerie than others. Some say these books are Halloween books, and while I see the logic in that, I think you can read them whenever you want. “In order for Serafina to save the children of Biltmore Estate, she must seek the answers that will unlock the puzzle of her past.” The fact that the setting of the Serafina series is centered around the Biltmore estate really got me interested. The Biltmore is one of the biggest homes in America, and it was built in the 1800s! When we went to see it last spring, I was so excited. We went in so many rooms, though I don’t know if we saw all 250! You can read more by Robert Beatty by reading his other novel, Willa of the Wood. Willa is a nymph, and the setting of this book takes place in a magical forest. This book was really interesting, original, and overall a great story.


That’s all for fantasy today! I feel like I have said the word magic so many times lol. Hopefully you readers are inspired to read at least one of these. They really are amazing, and all of them helped form my childhood. If you aren’t into magic, I still have 3 more genre lists, so stay tuned to find the right one for you. I’ll be back tomorrow with some more recommendations! 😘

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Help Books for Teens + Fudge Recipe!!

Hello everybody!!! Right now I am in the car with my grandparents, on the way to my cousin’s house in Georgia!! If you don’t know, my cousin Kenna lives there and I decided to travel with my grandpare

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page