top of page

10 Things To Do on a Snow Day + Bonus Book Review!!!

Wassup everybody and welcome back to ma blog!


Happy Valentine's Day! Hopefully you guys have watched the new To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before movie, right? If not, go do it because it was so good. Also, it’s the perfect way to celebrate Valentine’s Day! Just make sure you incorporate some chocolate in there as well.





If you don’t know, tonight we are supposed to be getting some pretty heavy snow- I think the forecast called for at least 2 inches! So in honor of hopefully getting out of school on Tuesday, today’s post is dedicated to SNOW DAYS. I love em, you love em, we all love em. Let’s just hope we get one.


Also, be sure to stay tuned for a book review at the end!


10 THINGS TO DO ON A SNOW DAY ❄

  • First up- binge read. One of my favorite things to do on a snow day- or any day for that matter- is to binge read. Yesterday I decided I was going to re-read Never Evers for the...fourth time I think...imma need Lyla to back me up on that. 😂 But yeah, it was really nice because that book is 1) amazing 2) takes place in the snow 3) is a cute romance. I mean, what more could you ask for right? Anway, go grab those reading socks and messy bun and your favorite book!

  • Binge watch- So this is always a great option if you don’t feel like reading. I’m pretty sure we all know what binge watching entails. For me, it’s my bed, my dog, and my Stranger Things. If you don’t know what to watch, I suggest something like Gilmore Girls for a relaxing snow day, but if you want to go hard core why not try the show I’m watching right now called the Umbrella Academy.

  • Play in the snow- Admit it, it’s super fun to build snowmen and have snowball fights. About a year ago me and my sister had this epic one with my neighbor (sry Brock if you’re reading this) and we beat him so good. But then you can’t forget sledding! If you have a hill- go for it. Sledding is really fun and I looove it.

  • Make hot cocoa- Ok imma let you guys in on my hot cocoa recipe (which *ironically* is just veryyyy similar to the one on the back of our Swiss Miss canister). So yeah, just go look at that lol.

  • Photoshoot!!!

  • Ok this one is oddly specific but watch the movie Cool Runnings. I remember watching this with my sister one snow day and now it’s really nostalgic and I want to watch it again. It’s about a Jamacain bobsled team.

  • Bake- The other day we made chocolate chip cookies on the day we were off from school. We made two batches- one with Mrs. Fields recipe and one with Joanna Gaines’s just to test which one was better. Joanna Gaines for the win!

  • Make Valentine’s Day cards for people and get crafty with them!

  • Get things done around the house- which reminds me I have laundry to do after this…

  • Relax- do something relaxing! After all, this is your day off!


And now, the moment we’ve all been waiting for since I literally started this blog...a book review for Never Evers!!! So like I said before, I’ve read this book probably four times, including yesterday’s binge read. To be honest I’ve kind of been in a reading slump the past few weeks and yesterday I really wanted to read something. Luckily I owned my favorite book in the whole world! So I bust that open and got to reading yesterday, and now I really want to do a book review. So sit back and enjoy because this is a good one!



Never Evers

Author: Tom Ellen, Lucy Ivison

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Description


When 13 year old Mouse gets kicked out of ballet school and is thrust right back into her old school’s ski trip, she knows practically no one except “crazy Connie” and the too-cool-for-school Kiera. Meanwhile, Jack is hitting the slopes as well, and he is determined to get his first kiss. Just when Mouse starts enjoying skiing and hanging out with her new friends, including Jack, mega star Roland shows up and things start to get complicated…


About the authors


Tom Ellen and Lucy Ivison are best friends. Lucy is a London librarian and Tom is a journalist for major publications! They have written three novels, including Never Evers.


Review

*Warning-the following contains spoilers


Reading this book requires a certain setting. All I ask is that if you do read this book, read it while being comfy.


Wow it’s going to be hard to find any flaws for this book! I first read this book in sixth grade, and while it is for a younger audience (11-13) I still love it sooo much, which proves it's really a book for anyone. Especially if you are a fan of sweet, light romances. Which is perfect for Valentines Day, might I add.


To begin, can we just talk about Jack for a second. So if the fact that his name is Jack wasn’t enough, apparently he is described by Mouse as “gorgeous” even though he doesn’t know it.


*claps👏


Anyway, if you couldn’t tell, I love the characters. Connie is a little bit weird, but that’s okay. Kiera is SO cool and she’s probably the person I relate to most in this book. Toddy was really pure, Jack was amazing ofc, and even though Lauren was RUDE, she still had some good character development. The only person I really did not like was Max, which I figure is the general consensus.


The setting was definitely a 10/10. I love reading this book in the winter because that’s when it takes place in the book (February to be exact). The whole plot takes place on a ski trip in France, and I don’t know, I just really liked that the whole thing happened in one place. Of course, I have always wanted to snowboard and that goes really well with the whole snow scene. Also this book definitely gives me Cloud 9 vibes. Anyone else love that movie?


I think this book was really relatable. My first time reading it, I didn’t really pay attention to things like that, but at times throughout reading this book yesterday I would think wow how do these adults make this book so relatable? That’s good writing right there.


I thought the romance was really cute. It makes me want to sign up for a ski trip right now, and I’m not a fan of the cold, if that’s saying anything. I was never bored while reading this, and I felt like I could really picture myself there with the characters. The only thing I will say was *frustrating* was how the book ended with Jack “leaning in”. But that’s it. Like, hello, I want more.


To conclude, they are all British. 💕


Thanks so much for reading everyone!!! Love you guysss!

14 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page