top of page

Kiss Me In New York Book Review | Blogmas Day 1

Heyy readers and welcome back to my blog! I hope everyone liked my Thanksgiving themed post yesterday, because, well...we’re moving on now. To Christmas! The most wonderful time of the year has started to come, and let me tell you, I am soo ready for it. Though I absolutely love fall and it’s my favorite season, Christmas is my favorite holiday (it’s complicated). And to kick off Blogmas I am doing a winter book review, because what’s better than a Christmas book?


If you’ve been reading my posts for a while you know that I have certain standards for my favorite books. One) they have to make me feel happy vibes, Two) they have to be in a good setting- bad setting ruins everything. And the last one isn’t really a standard but it just so happens that all of my favorite books are romance and are not well-known (besides one). I will definitely do a best-of-the-best books post later, which will include my top favorite books of all time. But today is a book review, and in case you haven’t guessed, yes this book is one of my favorites.


I read this book about four days ago, and I finished it in one day. Granted, it was pretty short, but the main reason was it was so good (more on that later). Taking a look at the checklist above, yes, it made me feel happy, yes, the setting was AMAZING, and yes, it was romance and is not well-known. It has been on my want-to-reads list on Goodreads for a while. It’s actually on my Christmas books list, and I wasn’t expecting it to be in the library (again, not well-known). So when I was perusing the shelves at my local library and saw this I was so happy and considered it an amazing score! I’d recommend this book for any teen looking for light Christmas romance to celebrate the holidays with.


Okay so it’s an actual problem that I never do reviews for books I don’t like (I like them all lol) but ya here is my official review for…



Kiss Me in New York

Author: Catherine Rider

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Description


1 Christmas Eve

2 broken hearts

10 easy steps

24 hours


When Charlotte and Anthony are stuck at an airport in New York on Christmas Eve, of all days, it’s a disaster. After all, Anthony had just been dumped by his girlfriend in front of everyone, and Charlotte just wants to go back to her England home. Not knowing what else to do, the pair sets out onto the New York streets, with only the book, Get Over Your Ex in Ten Easy Steps! to guide them.


About the author

Catherine Rider is the author of Kiss Me in New York and Kiss Me in Paris, as well as some other romance books. There is not much info on her, but I know she is British and some of her books are written in German? Which is very interesting.


Review

*Warning- the following contains spoilers


Maybe it was the Christmas feel, or the fact that it takes place in New York, but I loved this book so much.


The fact that the setting is New York City, my dream city, and this book is a romance, makes me so happy because it’s like two of my favorite things combined. It also made me reminisce about living in New York a lot, I loved the characters, Charlotte is British and Anthony has Italian ancestors, so there was a lot of culture in this book. And omg Charlotte is SO relatable, at least to me. She wants to go to Columbia University (my dream school), and study journalism (my dream career) to reinvent herself into this new, more outgoing and confident person. So basically me in book (and British) form. The two hit it off really well in my opinion, probably because both of them need each other, though they don’t want to admit it. And of course, the ten (easy) steps really carried the book, as it transported them all over my favorite city and out of their comfort zones. I loved when they went into Macy’s and got makeovers because it reminds me a lot of Christmas. One of my favorite characters was probably Mistake. Do you guys know that short film with the dog who always eats his owner’s food and the two of them are best friends? Ok well I picture Mistake as that dog. At the end it was really sad when Charlotte leaves New York. Overall this book was really good, and I laughed SO many times, especially when Cheese appears. The plot was unique and fun, the characters were well-developed, and the setting was amazing. What more could I ask for?


That’s it for today guys! I hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving break and eats lots of food. See you next time! ✌



22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page