top of page

Live by Sadie Robertson Book Review

Hey readers!!!!


This past week has been crazy! For one, we’re back at school again. I’m starting to lose track of how many times they’ve switched up the schedule on us, but for now, we’re on hybrid (boo). A couple of days ago I got...drumroll please...Instagram (!) and I discovered my new favorite movie (17 Again). Today it snowed for the first time in a LONG time, and even though it wasn’t a lot, me and Milo still had fun playing and taking pictures in it while it lasted. Speaking of Milo, he was scheduled for a haircut today but we forgot, soo he’s probably getting one tomorrow. Which is a relief because he’s starting to look less like a dog and more like whatever species Chewbaca is. 🤣


So yeah, a lot has been going on. But there’s one more thing I want to talk about. This week I discovered an amazing book that is most definitely in my top ten! In today’s post I’m going to review this book and tell you guys everything that I loved about it. This is my first non-fiction book review, yay!


Live

Author: Sadie Robertson

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Description


I briefly explained the premise of this book in my Self Help post about two weeks ago. Live is a nonfiction self improvement book for young Christians. It provides insight on matters such as finding your confidence, living in the moment, loving others, having fun, and discovering who you are/ want to be spiritually. There’s also so much more! Author Sadie Robertson discusses how to live in Christ using scripture and past experiences. If you’re looking to enjoy life more and leave grudges and to-do lists behind, this book is perfect for you.


About the author


Sadie Robertson is an author, actress, podcast maker, blogger, and devoted Christian. She has been on Dancing With The Stars as well as Duck Dynasty. Her podcast is called WHOA That’s Good, where she discusses many topics with guests. She has written three books: Live Original, Live Fearless, and of course this one, Live. Her blog is called Live Original.


Review


I am happy to say that this book has made it into my top ten. It was so good! I loved the vibe; there were cute pictures and quotes around every corner, and the fact that I was reading this book that was giving me so much good advice made me so happy to read it. I could ramble on a million things about this book, but for now I’m going to narrow it down to these points:


  • I loved how Sadie used scripture and applied it to daily life- She gave me a new perspective on this one story called the prodigal son. It’s about a son that gets lost in life. He becomes so miserable that he feels he can’t even go home and face his family. He feels he is “eating with the pigs.” One day, when the son had nothing left, he returned home. To his disbelief, his father welcomed him with open arms. He even threw the son a party! The son was forgiven of his sins and redeemed at once. When I first read this, I skipped right over the meaning behind it. Even if we feel like we have sinned too much, that we are not worthy of God’s love, there is nothing we can do that will make him not love us and welcome us with open arms.


  • The advice I got from this book has completely changed my perspective- While there are amazing takeaways from every chapter, two things really stuck out to me:


-“I repeat: you are not worthless, but the lies and the adjectives you are believing about yourself are worth less than the identity of royalty God has on your life as a son or daughter of the King.” This one hit home. Sadie furthered on to explain an analogy she used mentioning The Princess Diaries. What she said about this quote was that you are royal, being as you are a son or daughter of a King. Now would any Princess/Prince believe lies such as ‘you are worthless’ about themselves? Of course not! They have kingdoms to run, after all. Would they believe they are dumb when they are the heir to a kingdom? It doesn’t matter how you have sinned, you will always be His and therefore you will always be royalty. These lies are beneath you, don’t believe them.


-“Surround yourself with laughter and the people you love, and your day will be a good one.” This one is simple and straightforward, yet I love it. I’m going to be honest, a long time ago, I liked to do my own thing and handle my own business. But I’ve realized that life is so much more than that. God wanted us to have companions, just look at Adam and Eve. He wanted us to experience relationships and have friends and family. A while ago I realized this, and I realized that when I’m with my family and friends, I feel so much happier. I feel so much more alive. It’s come to the point now where I kind of have a fear of being alone, but that’s okay. 😂 My day is definitely a good one when I spend it with people (and dogs!) I love.


-Lastly, this book has taught me to celebrate life. It’s told me that throwing random dance parties is okay. Laughing out loud and singing to music in public is fun. It’s life. It’s taught me to rejoice in others accomplishments. She used the analogy of a basketball game. When one player on your team has the ball, you don’t try to take it away from them, right? No, because you’re all on the same team, with one goal in mind. So throw a party when others have accomplishments!


If you can’t tell, I love this book, and I really hope you guys give it a chance. You will find advice for everything in it. Hope you guys liked this post, and I’ll see you next time! BYE!!!!!!!



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page