top of page

Love A La Mode Book Review

Updated: Sep 24, 2020

As you guys probably know if you’ve read my favorites books list, Never Evers is basically my favorite book ever. (haha) It’s not that popular, but it is amazing, which is similar to a book I have recently read, Love A La Mode. Love A La Mode is now way up there, following Never Evers by only a centimeter, that’s how good it is.


So naturally, I had to do a book review.




Love A La Mode

Author: Stephanie Kate Strohm

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Description


Take two American teen chefs, add one heaping cup of Paris, toss in a pinch of romance, and stir. . . .


Rosie Radeke firmly believes that happiness can be found at the bottom of a mixing bowl. But she never expected that she, a random nobody from East Liberty, Ohio, would be accepted to celebrity chef Denis Laurent's school in Paris, the most prestigious cooking program for teens in the entire world. Life in Paris, however, isn't all cream puffs and crepes. Faced with a challenging curriculum and a nightmare professor, Rosie begins to doubt her dishes.


Henry Yi grew up in his dad's restaurant in Chicago, and his lifelong love affair with food landed him a coveted spot in Chef Laurent's school. He quickly connects with Rosie, but academic pressure from home and his jealousy over Rosie's growing friendship with gorgeous bad-boy baker Bodie Tal makes Henry lash out and push his dream girl away.


Desperate to prove themselves, Rosie and Henry cook like never before while sparks fly between them. But as they reach their breaking points, they wonder whether they have what it takes to become real chefs.


Perfect for lovers of Chopped Teen Tournament and Kids Baking Championship, as well as anyone who dreams of a romantic trip to France, Love la Mode follows Rosie and Henry as they fall in love with food, with Paris, and ultimately, with each other.


-Description from goodreads.com


About the Author


Stephanie Kate Strohm is the author of It’s Not Me, It’s You; The Date to Save; The Taming of the Drew; Prince in Disguise; Love a la Mode; That’s Not What I Heard; and Restless Hearts (Katy Keene #1). After graduating with a joint major in theater and history from Middlebury College, she acted her way around the country, performing in more than 25 states.


Although she was born in New York, she currently lives in Chicago, and doesn’t discriminate against any type of pizza.



Review

*Warning- the following contains spoilers


Yeah, I LOVED this book, if you couldn’t already tell. I think one of the main factors that played a part in my obsession was the fact that it takes place in Paris, France. I mean, what book set in Paris could be bad, am I right? I do wish there was more sight-seeing and touring the city, but I was glad that in the end they went on top of the eiffel tower. It was honestly the perfect ending, and I was hoping the whole time that it would conclude like that, so let’s just say I was really happy. However, there were other things I would have liked to see, like maybe some more French museums or shops, but I understand that the main setting in this book obviously had to be the Ecole, and I’m not complaining about that. Which brings me to my next favorite thing, the FOOD. I loved the fact that Henry and Rosie are bakers, well at least Rosie is, and seriously everytime they brought up the extravagant dishes they would make in the fancy Ecole kitchen I would instantly be starving. No book has ever made me hungrier than this one, which can be a problem sometimes...I wonder if the author is a chef, because she really knows her stuff. Another thing I loved was of course, Rosie and Henry. #Renry They’re just perfect for each other, even if Henry TOTALLY messes things up sometimes. Sometimes I wish he would just see that Rosie likes him, not Bodie, and then they could live happily ever after way faster, but then I remind myself that nobody’s perfect and they probably needed that big, long, argument to happen before they could move on.


~

To conclude, this book is definitely one you guys have to read, I don’t care what books you’re currently reading. Drop them and pick up this book right now because it is amazing and you won’t regret it. Trust me. If you’re a fan of Never Evers, then this is perfect for you.


So yeah, that’s all I have to say guys. Hope everyone enjoys their three-day weekend, and I’ll see ya soon! As they say in France, au revoir!


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page