top of page

Scary Stories To Tell In The Dark (Campfire Edition)

Updated: Jul 27, 2020

Hey guys and welcome back to my blog! I just recently got back from camping in Georgia, and I gotta say, it was an experience I will never forget.


At first, I was a little skeptical about the whole idea of camping. One, because of the bugs, two, the heat, and three, being outside ALL DAY. The reason I wanted to go so badly was because my best friend and cousin Kenna was going.


The first day we basically spent setting up our site and unpacking. A little later in the day, we decided to get in the lake. Honestly, being in a lake is not how I expected it to be. First off, the floor is muddy, so your feet kind of stick to the bottom. Second, it’s WARM. Either way, it was still a great place to cool off and swim because, like I said before, it was hot.


The next day was probably my favorite because on that day me and Kenna got to ride my electric scooter and my grandparents' electric bike around the campsite. I’m really glad I brought my scooter because it was really, really fun to zoom around and explore. I’d definitely recommend bringing one if you have one. (Especially if you’re too lazy to actually ride a real one like me.) 


My favorite spot in the camp was probably the dock. The dock was at the far end of the ground and led out onto the lake. It was really pretty and had a great view of the water and its surroundings. At the end of the trip, me and Kenna took a Polaroid picture there.


Another highlight of the trip was of course the s’mores and campfire! As you all probably know, when camping, you absolutely must have a little fire going. At night it’s a great place to enjoy s’mores treats and tell spooky stories. Speaking of spooky stories, today I thought I’d share with you guys 5 scary tales to bring with you camping from nine other than the Scary Stories to Tell in The Dark collection. So let’s get into these summaries of the famous stories, and I hope you guys enjoy!


*Note- some of these summaries are from the website vulture.com. If you would like to visit the full page here is the link:https://www.vulture.com/amp/article/best-scary-stories-to-tell-in-the-dark-books.html


Spooky Stories To Tell In The Dark Favorites:

  • The Babysitter- This tale is about a babysitter who’s home alone watching some kids when the phone starts ringing nonstop. It turns out the caller was upstairs the whole time.

  • High Beams- The plot of this story is about a girl in her car who is terrified of the truck driver behind her. He keeps flashing his high beams in what seems to be an epic case of road rage. However, in the end, it is discovered that the man in the truck was trying to protect the woman. The twist- a killer had been in the back of the lady’s car. Every time the man in the truck flashed his high beams, the killer was too afraid to stab the woman.

  • Just Delicious- One day, a neighbor dies and Mina mentions it to George, who brushes her off as always. Defeated and unable to have a conversation with her husband, Mina begins to prepare George’s food for the day. While he’s out, she’s feeling peckish and begins to pick at the liver she had cooked up. Before she knows it, she’s eaten the entire thing. Worried how George will react — “He would be angry and mean and she did not want to face that again” — she goes over to the neighbor’s place to secure a substitute liver. Cannibalism as a means to avoid abuse? That’s terrifying.

  • Harold- This is probably the most remembered story because of its level of spookiness. It’s about two farmers who plant a scarecrow and name it Harold after another farmer they hate. They take their anger out on Harold by punching and kicking him until one day Harold comes to life and starts to look for revenge. He finally gets it in the end by *sry of this is gross it makes me gag too* skinning the farmers and laying out their bodies to bake in the sun.

  • The Big Toe- The story begins with a little boy who harvests a big toe from the ground to add to his family’s soup. Problem is, the toes owner shows up looking for his appendage, but how?


Hope these didn’t scare you guys too much! Though my family didn’t end up telling these around the campfire (I would have probably had nightmares if we had)  maybe you guys will the next time you go camping. I have no idea when I’m going camping again, because though I ended up liking the great outdoors, on the way back home, I had to ride in a bug infested car, so... Literally, a cricket jumped out of my bag and there were ants everywhere. Not an experience I’d like to relive any time soon. Anyway, hope you enjoyed this post, and I’ll see you guys later this week! Bye!

18 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

S’mores Dip Recipe!

What’s up everyone? I am barely alive with all this summer heat! All I want to do is jump in a pool everyday, and I’m pretty sure everyone else can relate. Hope you all are having a good summer! I kno

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page