top of page

Sunkissed Book Review + Ranking Kasie West Books!

Hey guys what’s up?


Hopefully summer has been good for you so far! I can’t believe we’re almost one month in already. :’( Anyways, I haven’t posted in a while, because I just recently got back from Long Hollow Camp! Let me tell you, camp was one of the best weeks of my life. I had so much fun with my friends, and I learned so much about Jesus! Also, the activities were very fun; I especially loved zip lining and rafting the Ocoee River! I’d have to say, one of the highlights was The Ocoee Morning Show. Also shoutout to camp food and Ed Sheeran...our sponsors.


Double rainbow at camp!


In today’s post, I’ll be reviewing a book I recently read called Sunkissed by Kasie West. Kasie West is my favorite chick lit author of ALL TIME. In case I haven’t mentioned her before, she is the queen of writing happy and very cute YA romances. I’ve read all her books and I have loved every single one, so today I’ll be reviewing her latest one that just came out in May, along with ranking all of her chicklits I have read!


Let’s get into it! →


Sunkissed

Author: Kasie West

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐


Summary


This book stars Avery Young, and a camping trip of a lifetime. Avery is not an outspoken person. She always thought she was happy in her own little bubble, where she’s the calm, go with the flow kind of girl. When Avery finds out her best friend and boyfriend kissed behind her back, she seeks escape from conflict on a summer camping trip with her parents and polar opposite sister. No WIFI, no drama...just lakes and trees and mysterious Brooks. While Avery assumes at first that Brooks wants nothing to do with her, the pair soon find themselves spending the summer together, both expanding their comfort zones and getting closer to each other.


Review


So to be honest, I was going to give this book three stars. But then I was thinking about when I was reading this book, and how I barely set it down. I really enjoyed it and therefore it took me a day to finish. I think this is because of its light premise and all around happy vibes. What’s funny is that I originally gave it five stars on Goodreads. Oftentimes I think that when I originally finish a book I’m still caught up in how I feel at that moment. I’ve come to realize that as time goes on my rating rarely stays the same.


I loved how this book emitted summer vibes. It was a perfect vacation book, and made me savor the sunny skies that summer brings. I love how it perfectly aligns with how life is now- swimming and sleeping under the stars. For some reason I really enjoy it when a book takes place in the same season that I’m in. You will NEVER catch me reading a winter book in summer.

Now, onto the relationships. Overall, I really liked the sisterly bonding. I think it’s nice that they were able to just get away and therefore become closer. I do wish that the conflict with Avery's dad was a little bit more resolved, as it was a little rushed. Also, I did not like Avery’s “best friend.” You know, the one that betrayed her? I’m glad that the pair were able to find acceptance, but like, it was so quick that Avery gave in. Maybe that’s just the stubborn side of me kicking in, I don’t know.


Avery and Brooks were so cute. While Brooks isn’t really my type at all, I thought they were both great for each other. When they were fighting, I was so upset. I loved how Avery helped him with his dad stuff and he helped her find herself. ALSO, their duets literally killed me. 💔


Quotes

*I am proud to say that this might be one of my favorite romantic quotes out of any other book. I loved it so much that I took a picture so I would remember it lol.


“I’ll still like you even if we lose every day for forever.”

-ahhh, this quote almost made me fall for Brooks 😖



To conclude, this book was so cute and a great summer romance! I like that Kasie is switching up her cover style a bit, and I just really liked this book. It wasn’t the most life-changing book ever, but it’s a fun one for a quick weekend trip or something. I recommend!


Ranking ALL of Kasie West’s Chick Lit Books!

  1. Maybe This Time

  2. Love, Life, and the List

  3. On the Fence

  4. The Distance Between Us

  5. Moment of Truth

  6. The Fill-In Boyfriend (the book that got me into romance!)

  7. Sunkissed

  8. Lucky In Love

  9. P.S. I Like You

  10. Listen to Your Heart

  11. By Your Side

  12. Fame, Fate, and the First Kiss


Ok, honestly I am so surprised by how that list turned out. I was so expecting Love, Life, and the List to be first! Congrats Maybe This Time for making number one, I’m impressed. 👏


Thank you guys so much for reading! If you can’t tell, I love Kasie West haha. If I’m being honest, recently I’ve really been struggling to get into reading. I think it’s mostly because I’ve been forcing myself to read books I’m not engaged in. Also, I’ve had many other distractions. For example, I just started writing a book as well as I started watching The Vampire Diaries. Of course, my phone is also competing for my attention. And then I have all my summer goals I’ve been wanting to work on...it’s kind of stressful. But I know that’s not what summer is about, and I think I’m going to start being less hard on myself. After I finish the book I am currently working on, I’m going to start reading what I actually want to.


Thanks for listening to me rant haha. I hope everyone has a great fourth of July tomorrow, and let’s all keep ourselves accountable for not taking summer for granted, because I know I have. I can’t wait to watch the fireworks and go swimming! Love you guys, byeeee!




18 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page