top of page

The Book Thief Book Review

Trigger warning- You will not be able to put this book down.


Another warning- The following contains spoilers. PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK


I am scared to write this because I am afraid I will miss something. The Book Thief has so many amazing details that it’s almost hard to notice them without the use of your brain. Additionally, the author, Markus Zusak, noted in the back of the book that he “likes the idea of every page in every book having a gem on it.” And he does not disappoint. I will try my best to include everything that caught my eye in this review, because I don’t want a single thing to be forgotten.


This review will be summarized into three different categories. (See here I am trying to sound like a line from the prologue… “I saw the book thief three times.”)


Category One:


*** NARRATION ***

In which I talk about the narrator, Death.


At first I did not realize who was speaking to me. From the line, “It suffices to say that at some point in time, I will be standing over you, as genially as possible,” I interpreted the narrator was a grave digger. I guess I was close.


After a conversation with my mom, it came to be that I discovered it was indeed Death telling the tale. I have to say, I definitely felt chills after that revelation. I have to hand it to Zusak, that was a smart concept. In the words of my mom, “Who better to tell a WWII story than Death himself?” It all makes perfect sense, like pieces of a puzzle, as the book continues. I had not yet read a book that was narrated by a concept, but I found myself appreciating the commentary from Death, if that makes sense. Zusak kind of transforms the idea into a personable figure. Someone who enjoys sarcasm, dark humor, but most of all, colors. They can be found on every page, and I really love that Death sees things through splashes of colors. Most people envision him (It’s funny that I am speaking as if I am buddies with Death) as this dark figure with a hood and gleaming scythe who is malicious and cruel, but as we learn from one of the first lines, “I am not violent, I am not malicious, I am a result,” Death is not being spiteful when he carries the souls out of humans. He doesn’t do it for fun; it is simply something he has to do. In fact, in the shower one night I had a random thought because of the quote. Think about it- “You are going to die.” It will happen, and it’s not death that kills you, so it is not death we should be mad/scared of. Death is simply the aftermath of whatever caused you to die. Therefore, death is not the bad guy.


Don’t believe me?


Throughout the whole book Death is pained to see people die. He says “Even Death has a heart,” and that it “kills me [him] sometimes, how people die.” There’s some dark humor for you. Not only the pun, but the fact that Death (Death!) is being “killed.” By us, humans. After all, we are the cause for the war. We are the ones who never give him a break.


We are the ones who haunt him.


Additionally, I support the idea that we as readers wouldn’t have gotten as much from the story had it been written by say Liesel or another character (though I do think it would be cool to see Max’s side of the story when he’s gone). Oftentimes Death would foreshadow someone’s death or some event in the future (and he did it a lot, let me tell you) and I would get scared and confused because why is he spoiling his own book? Then my mom told me that the author did that to create suspense, especially whenever something happens to the person said to die. I like this because it helped me in a way prepare for what was to come (even though when the time came I was still a wreck).


Not to mention, the way Zusak wrote this book is so beautiful. His words have power, which is exactly the message he wanted to convey when writing this. I love the beautiful figurative language and vocabulary. Zusak is truly a great writer and he could not have showcased his abilities had he been writing from Liesel’s point of view, because she was illiterate for a good chunk of the book. “Trust me, though, the words were on their way, and when they arrived, Liesel would hold them in her hands like the clouds, and she would wring them out, like the rain.”


Category Two:


***CHARACTERS***

Where I proceed to give the spiel on the main characters of this book.



In terms of favorite characters, I have to say my favorite is none other than Hans Hubermann. When I first met him I did not know what to expect. I immediately placed him under interrogation: Is he going to be nice to Liesel? Will he care for her? It was not long before I realized what a gentle and kind man Hans was. He is the type of person you envision with crinkles in the corner of his eyes from smiling, and of course, an accordion always in hand. He sits with Liesel in the middle of the night when she wakes up from nightmares to read to her. He loves Rosa Hubermann, who insults him on a daily basis. What more proof do you need?


Speaking of Rosa Hubermann, she is the character I identify with the most, therefore ranking number two on this theoretical list. Rosa is the most stubborn, she does not put up with anyone’s antics, and her favorite word is saukerl, which translates to dirty guy. Rosa may seem tough and mean, but deep down she has a good heart. Rosa I envision as plump and a person who wears clogs (don’t ask where that came from). She loves her husband and Liesel dearly.


Next up is Liesel herself. In the beginning of this book Liesel is 10 and by the end she is 14. It says something, that she was able to bond more to the people she lived with for four years rather than her birth mom (who put Liesel up for adoption). I like Liesel because she’s very smart, full of life, and knows how to take care of herself. She’s always up for a good apple stealing (though she prefers books) and acts like just another one of the boys when playing soccer. She knows how to take a watschen, and how to give one- which proves how tough she is. Liesel goes through so much stuff throughout this book. Right off the bat she loses her brother and her mom, and is forced into a new community. And like Death said, he saw her “three times.” That’s a lot of death for a little girl. I am amazed at how she bounces back so resiliently, every time (especially the last one). My favorite quote from Liesel has to be: “I have hated the words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.”


Next up is the irreplaceable Rudy Steiner. Rudy is, quite literally, the boy next door. He’s full of energy and desires to be the next Jesse Owens. Rudy is Liesel’s best friend, and he loves her. “The only thing worse than a boy who hates you; a boy who loves you.” Rudy is described as having lemon-hair, and oftentimes he and Liesel tease each other and call each other names. However, that’s what makes them best friends. It really made me sad at the end when he died because Rudy was so young and he had so many dreams. I can’t even imagine what it must’ve been like for Liesel- to be the only survivor out of everyone she knows. It’s so sad.


And last but certainly not least is Max Vandenburg. I was skeptical of Max at first, and a lot of the time that he was at their house I would be on edge, because what if someone discovered him? Still, Max is one of my favorite characters because though he doesn’t say much, he writes everything that comes to mind. He is very kind and humble, which is why it pained me so much to see him in a concentration camp where he definitely does not belong. I love his and Liesel’s friendship and I’m glad that Liesel sort of got another brother.


Category Three:


***STORY***

AKA- My thoughts on the story in general


This is one of my favorite stories of all time. All the things listed above made it captivating, in a way that made me never want to put this book down. I like that it takes place in a small town in Germany, because then we get another side of the story besides the ones we learn in our American history books. Also, I appreciated the fact that it consists of little things like Liesel’s apple stealing adventures, and reading in the mayor’s library, so that it’s not sorrow and death all the time. It’s just normal life. I feel like the people are what made this story what it is, though. Not the events- but the people. Throughout the book you learn more and more about the neighbors on Himmel Street, and you really feel connected to them as the book goes on. Overall this story was amazing- and it’s not just your typical war novel, if you didn’t catch that. This book stands out, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. It makes you think, it takes a place in your heart and mind, and I think it’s a must-read.


Some other quotes that stood out:


“When life robs you, sometimes, you have to rob it back.” -This is when Liesel lashes back against Frau Herrman (the mayor’s wife). She proceeds to steal her books as a way of retaliation and I think it’s another example of Liesel being tough and sticking up for herself.


“I always marvel at the human’s ability to keep going. They always manage to stagger on even with tears streaming down their faces.” -This one stood out to me because it shows us just how strong humanity can be.


“Sometimes people are beautiful. Not in looks. Not in what they say. Just in what they are.”



44 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page