top of page

The Elite Book Review

Hello everyone and welcome back to my blog! Today’s post is another book review. I’m excited to write this one because I’m going to be reviewing one of my favorite books, The Elite by Kiera Cass. I did post a review of The Selection, so if you haven’t already, go check that out! And now, let’s get into this review. ↣


Little Random Update:

-This weekend I baked some cookies with my mom and they were really good. We made Joanna Gaines recipe so I’d definitely recommend it! Here is the recipe: https://www.thekitchn.com/joanna-gaines-chocolate-chip-cookies-recipe-257520?utm_source=pinterest&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=managed&utm_content=custompin&crlt.pid=camp.rGFSkU5xjjj7

-Also I recently discovered this singer and she is one of my favorites! Her name is Caroline Manning and her songs are so good. My favorite songs by her are Sour Strawberry and Mornings in Paris. She also has a YouTube channel if you’re interested.


The Elite

Author: Kiera Cass

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Description- Goodreads.com

(If you have not read The Selection, I would stop reading now)


The Selection began with thirty-five girls. Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon's heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?



About the Author


Kiera Cass is a graduate of Radford University and currently lives in Blacksburg, Virginia. She is the author of The Siren, but is best known for her New York Times bestseller The Selection, which was published in 2012. Cass said in an interview that her inspiration behind the selection came from fairy tales. “The characters come first for me almost all the time. The inspiration behind The Selection was thinking about the what ifs of other stories, mainly Esther and Cinderella.”


Review (Warning-the following contains spoilers)


Out of all of The Selection books, I think this one is my least favorite, and not because it was bad. I just had to take into account all of America’s mistakes. I’m not saying it’s not okay to make mistakes, it is, but I just thought America was being really careless in this book. Multiple times she basically tries to ruin her relationship with Maxon, causing him to focus more on Kriss and become closer to her. She really pushed him away with the whole Aspen thing. Rereading this, I knew what was going to happen, and so many times I wished I could warn America. Also, Maxon deserves more than that. How could America not see that? There was very little to no romance at all in this book, and it felt like America and Maxon were constantly fighting. Still, despite all the times America treats him badly, Maxon forgives her over and over again, further proving his kindness and generosity.


Of course, I’m pretty sure everyone speaks for me when I say the saddest thing in this book was Marlee’s caning. I felt so bad for her, but I’m kind of glad she got to be with Carter, thanks to Maxon. I did wish Maxon got rid of Celeste when reading this book. I honestly still don't know why he kept her around. I just felt like there wasn’t even anything going on between them.


I love America’s connection to her maids, I think that it really shows her true personality, loyal and kind, and I absolutely loved the Halloween party. It was so fun and happy and probably one of America’s best moments with Maxon out of the whole Selection. Except for when they are fighting, America and Maxon’s relationship is one of my favorite book relationships ever. I think they are really good together, and when they tug their ears as their little sign to talk to one another I think that’s really cute. I also love the castle where The Selection takes place. If I could live there, I would. (Who wouldn’t?) It’s like a modern fairytale palace and from what I picture in my head, very royal and picturesque.

~

This book is an amazing dystopian romance series that everyone will love. I’d definitely recommend it, just try not to get too mad at Aspen lol. Stay tuned for a review on The One, and I’ll see you guys next time, bye!


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page