top of page

The Selection Book Review

Hey guys! Right now I am writing this on my brand new chromebook, and I gotta say, it's way easier than typing on my phone. Comment below if you have any laptop sticker suggestions. Today I want to get right into this post, which is none other than a book review!


This review is centered around one of my favorite books, The Selection. I just finished reading it for the second time a couple days ago, and I loved it just as much as the first time I read it. If you guys are a fan of Dystopian romances, definitely continue reading and check this book out. And in case you didn't already know, it's official, Netflix is making a movie of The Selection! I'm so excited to watch one of my favorite books on screen!


The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Description


In a world centered around a caste system, America Singer finds herself a five. Not necessarily poor, but definitely not rich. She’s accepted this way of life, and is even willing to drop a caste, becoming a 6, if it means she gets to be with her first love, Aspen. However, her Mom, and Aspen, have different plans. Both encourage her to enter The Selection, a worldwide contest focused on finding a bride for the one and only Prince Maxon. Heartbroken, America enters the selection, and is drawn. She then finds herself in a palace surrounded by fancy dresses, foods, and 34 other girls, all fighting for the same thing.


About the Author


Kiera Cass is a graduate of Radford University and currently lives in Blacksburg, Virginia. She is the author of The Siren, but is best known for her New York Times bestseller The Selection, which was published in 2012. Cass said in an interview that her inspiration behind the selection came from fairy tales. “The characters come first for me almost all the time. The inspiration behind The Selection was thinking about the what ifs of other stories, mainly Esther and Cinderella.”


Recommendation

Warning- the following contains spoilers


I really enjoyed this book, and I think the main reason why is because of the fairy tale background. America’s life in the palace is something every girl, especially me, dreams of, even if America doesn’t appreciate it all the time. Even though this book is considered Dystopian, it is lighter and more airy than typical, and that is something I really liked. When looking for a good romance, I either turn towards Kasie West books or The Selection.


Speaking of romance, the whole love triangle between America, Maxon, and Aspen, is something I do not approve of. In my opinion, Aspen is an okay guy, but he isn’t right for America. He broke her heart because he was being proud, and then led her to cheat while competing in the selection, which he knows can get America extremely punished. I’m not saying America isn’t responsible, but i just hate the fact that she would cheat on Maxon. If I had the opportunity to marry him, I would never pass it up. Just saying.


I really liked how true to herself America is in The Selection. That’s a quality I really admire in her. For example, when she decided to wear natural makeup and be kind to her maids. That is a trait I feel like every queen should have, so there’s that. I also really love America and Maxon’s bond, and when they fought it broke my heart. Lucky for me, they got back together in the end so you know, heart repaired. My favorite character in this one is probably Maxon. Even though he didn’t get rid of Celeste right away, which is really annoying considering she is SO RUDE, he still is a charming and kind guy, and when he made the “feed the poor” act I loved him even more.

~

Overall this book was AMAZING, and I’d definitely recommend it to anyone. You will fall in love with the characters and plot, and wish you were part of the selection yourself. Hope you guys enjoyed this review, and if you did, give it a heart to support the Selection fandom. See you guys next time, bye! 😘



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page