top of page

Workouts To Start Your Day | productive, healthy, and simple exercises



Bello everyone, hope you all are having a great day! My day just got way better because I’m currently eating some oreos for snack. 😋 Though now that I think about it it’s probably contradictory to eat cookies while talking about workouts…


WHICH brings me to the topic of the day: stayin fit. Now, if you’re like me and you’d rather not exercise then go ahead and skip this post. However, even though some days I’m really not feeling it, I still push myself to get up and move. I encourage you guys to try to get some blood flowing too! *while eating an oreo on the couch* Especially in these quarantine times, when practically all sports are shut down for the time being or not practicing as much as they used to. It’s important to keep our bodies healthy, and sitting on your butt all day is not going to get that job done. Now I know, it’s hard, especially since school has started and you’re probably wondering what exactly do you want me to do, sports are cancelled? Well, for starters, these workouts that I do are all capable of being done from home, so bam. Next, it’s not that hard to include activeness in your daily routine. Whether it’s running up and down the stairs, or maybe doing some squats or throwing a ball around, you should easily find at least five minutes of your day that you can spend being healthy.


Did you know working out can also boost endorphins? This means that after doing some sort of physical activity you will end up feeling more happy and energetic. This is one of the reasons why I like to workout. Another reason is because it leaves me feeling more productive and ready to tackle my day than simply rolling out of bed. This helps me get my school work done more efficiently, enables me to cross off basically everything on my to-do list, and even improves my overall mental health. Trust me, this is no joke. All these things are true and actually work very well for me. Another reason why I choose to exercise is because it keeps me in shape. Like I said above, most sports are not happening during this time, causing our main source of physical activity to disappear. I don’t know about you, but I feel much better when my body is healthy. Also, I would like to maintain my stamina and endurance for when volleyball season starts back up again.


In case you’re wondering, no I am not a professional trainer. These are simply my morning workouts that I would like to share with you guys. And don’t sweat it (pun intended) if you skip a day or have a hard time getting started. Remember, you are doing this for you, nobody else, so if you don’t feel like it, don’t do it! Just keep in mind the reasons why you like to work out and use those to motivate you. If you do need some extra drive though, here are some of my favorite quotes:






These quotes all keep me going and up to being my best self. I even created a Motivation board on Pinterest to look at on days I’m lacking the willpower. I’d definitely recommend doing that as well! 


ENOUGH TALK, ON TO THE WORKOUTS →


If you haven’t seen my morning routine post, yoga is about the third thing I do after waking up. Before this I meditate, which really helps me get into the zone. While meditating I focus on my breath and become aware of how I’m feeling today. I set my intentions and goals for that day, putting myself into a positive and motivated mindset.


Next I roll out the mat and get started on some yoga. I love yoga because it stretches my body and really wakes me up in the morning. Yoga is one of the only sports, or activities, I guess I should say, that has no negative consequences. Yoga is simply a stretch and tune-in to the body. Yoga can: burn fat, influence mindfulness, and improve flexibility. 


Here is a sneak peek at my favorite online yoga instructors, and a brief overview of my own DIY yoga routine.


My Personal Yoga Practice:

  1. 20s child’s pose

  2. 20s down dog

  3. 20s three legged dog

  4. 20s high lunge

  5. 20s warrior two

(repeat steps 2-5 on other side)

6. 20s plank

7. 20s down dog


So, that is my go-to routine of the basic yoga steps all rolled into one. Now, here are some of my favorite online classes:


Julia Marie


Julia Marie really got me into yoga a couple months back. She is a great teacher on Amazon Prime that you can watch for free! She has about a million series and episodes, so you’ll never run out of practices to do. She also talks a lot about what you’re doing in your yoga and why you are doing it, how it is beneficial to your body. Her classes range from beginners to experts and really taught me a lot about yoga.


Shanti Generation: Yoga for Teens


Obviously I love this one because it is perfect for my age group. The practices are great if you’re just getting started. I love the meditation at the end and the music that plays while you do yoga. This was my first ever yoga series on Amazon Prime and I love it!


Jess Timsit


My mom is a big fan of Jess Timsit and her yoga practices on Amazon Prime. Jess is one of the more popular yoga instructors, and she has so, so many classes for you to choose from. She is more of an experienced yoga teacher, but if you feel you’re up for it, go ahead. I’d recommend her 30 Days to A New You challenge.


Yoga with Adrienne


Last, but not least is Yoga with Adreinne. This is a YouTube channel that many people love, including me. I do one practice of Adrienne’s every day. She is a great teacher, and does a really good job of explaining the steps. What I love most about her channel is the variety of videos to choose from. Neck pain? She’s got it. Need to wake up? It’s there. Literally, anything you want yoga-wise is on her channel. I especially love the playlists. Her playlists can help sort through what your yoga length goal is today. Maybe you’re feeling like you could do yoga all day, then click on her 45-60 minute video playlists. Or you might just be wanting to do a quick little stretch, as you might have things you need to get done. Lucky for you, she has an under 10 minute video playlist with your name on it! Go check her out, she is amazing and I definitely recommend. https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCFKE7WVJfvaHW5q283SxchA


After my yoga practice, I’m feeling really rejuvenated. So I’ll eat breakfast, get ready, and take Milo out. Next comes the thing I dread most: running. Don’t get me wrong, running is actually not that bad, but it really is exhausting. However, I normally just push myself to do it. Here’s some helpful advice: start. Once you start, you’re already done and on the right path. Soon, it’ll be over and you can cross it off your list! I normally run a mile, don’t judge me all you professional runners, around my neighborhood. Of course, I always have my AirPods in and blasting my workout playlist to keep me moving. In case you're wondering, here is my list of active songs:

(oh boy this is a lot to type)

-Havana by Camilla Cabello

-Stronger by Kelly Clarkson

-So What by P!nk

-Just like Fire by P!nk

-Girl on Fire by Alicia Keys

-Underdog by Alicia Keys

-Thumbs by Sabrina Carpenter

-breathin by Ariana Grande

-Single Ladies by Beyonce

-Might Not Like Me by Brynn Elliot

-I Love Me by Demi Lovato

-Believer by Imagine Dragons

-Thunder by Imagine Dragons

-X by Jonas Brothers

-Heat by Kelly Clarkson

-Lip Gloss by Lil Mama

-Like A Girl by Lizzo 

-Exactly How I Feel by Lizzo

-Water Me by Lizzo

-Nice to Meet Ya by Meghan Trainor

-High Hopes by Panic! At the Disco

-Workin’ for a Livin’ by Huey Lewis and The News

-Rain On Me by Lady Gaga and Ariana Grande

-Nice to Meet Ya by Niall Horan

-the light is coming by Ariana Grande

-Timber by Pitbull

-Turn Down For What by DJ Snake and Lil Jon

-(And a bunch of songs by Power Music Workout)


After I run I make sure to drink lots of WATER. Water is key to working out and just everyday life. It's the only energy drink you’ll ever need and fuels your body. I drink 64oz a day. (that’s 8 cups)


Next comes my dance workout. This is easily my favorite part about exercising in the morning. Not only is it fun, but it is also a great way to burn fat and keep your body moving. My absolute favorite dance workout YouTube channel is Kyra Pro. She has a million dance videos that are not too long but also not too short, with a wide range of popular songs from movies, pop hits, Disney, and more. Here is her link so you can check her channel out!: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCnlTby2BI0Oz2kddSXDH66Q



I also love Teagan Dixon. Though she does not have as many videos, she still has some great content and just plain ol’ good workouts to follow: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOK8oHlpW1iW1tQSonRlkog


I also do many single, short and sweet workouts from MadFit in case you want another dance workout site: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpQ34afVgk8cRQBjSJ1xuJQ


To end this post, I wanted to give you guys one more idea of what my volleyball routine is like! I haven’t practiced in forever, but during summer I would do this everyday. Sorry if it makes no sense I came up with it on my own, using a combo of volleyball skills. Anyway, here it is in case you need some inspo:



Thank you guys so much for reading this! Hopefully by now you’re inspired to exercise if you weren’t already. I hope everyone had a good three day weekend and labor day, if you did, comment down below! Be sure to give this post a heart and I’ll see you all next time, byee! 





36 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page