top of page

Everything you need to know about virtual school

In today’s post I’m going to explain everything you need to know about online/virtual school. My school is going to be fully virtual for the first three days back from break. If you didn’t know, I was doing online school for about two months at the beginning of the school year. When I did go back to school in October, I was in-person for about another month before things switched over to hybrid. So everyone’s now gotten a taste of online school, yet this is the first time my school is going completely virtual. Some people have asked me questions about it so I thought I’d write a blog post as well to inform everyone of what it’s like/ pros and cons.


Can you believe this is the last day of break? It makes me so sad...ya know what, sorry for bringing that up. We’re probably all trying to ignore the fact that in less than 24 hours, tests, homework, and all that jazz are going to be brought back into our lives. 😭 As these are crazy times, the question of whether school is going to be virtual after the first three days is still up in the air. Chances are, we’re probably going to be going back to hybrid. Which is a reasonable solution, I guess, if only it weren’t so awful. But...I’m getting sidetracked, so let’s get into this post. (insert arrow)


VIRTUAL SCHOOL 101:


  • Everything is on google classroom. Work, zoom links, test, etc. You’ll find all of those on your teacher’s google classroom. If you aren’t already joined, you can find the class code on the 8th grade page under the classwork tab.


  • Teacher’s post at 8am- Technically, you don’t have to log onto google classroom until your first zoom class starts. However, if you don’t want loads of work to do past school hours (shudder), I’d suggest logging on at 8am, which is when all of my teachers post the assignments of the day. Of course, this may be different for you, so make sure to be online bright and early on the first day to get to know your schedule.


  • Zooms are mandatory- While I don’t know what your related arts teachers are doing, I do know that core classes are required to have zoom classes everyday. Lengths vary. Some zooms may last for 1 hour and 30 minutes, while some may only last 30 minutes. Zooms can be complicated sometimes because when I was on virtual they split us into A and B groups. This was because our class was so big and it would space out the zooms. They might do that for you, so it just means that you and group A or B will be zooming on different days. Your teachers will tell you how long a zoom will last and when they will start, so make sure to write that down.


  • Be on time. It’s pretty simple, but be on time for your zooms. It may seem weird online, but those are your classes.


  • When you’re on a zoom you can mute yourself or turn off your camera. Some teachers will want both of those on, while others don’t mind as much.


  • You’ll have assignments AND zooms every day. So zoom lengths can vary to get that classwork in.


  • A printer comes in handy- I know that for one of my virtual classes I had to print all of my notes, so make sure your printer is stocked on ink.


So yeah, I think that pretty much covers that. As for the pros and cons:


CONS:

-Online school can be lonely

-Working on a computer makes you tired

-The no-socializing part is a big thing

-It can be overwhelming/ hard to navigate at times


PROS:

-Sleep in!

-I get to run in the morning before school!

-You get longe breaks

-Once you’ve finished your work, you can move on to the next subject pronto. Therefore, school gets done quicker


I think I definitely like virtual school better than hybrid. But, I’d much rather be in-person than any virtual. It’s confusing. 🤣


Hope everyone liked this post! (Or at least found it useful lol). Thanks so much for reading, and I’ll see you next time! Bye!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page