top of page

how to be productive- when you really don't feel like it

Hey wassup guys welcome back! So I never asked, but how was everyone's Easter?? As for me, Good Friday and Easter were pretty fun! As a matter of fact, this whole week was pretty enjoyable- my school’s track team won out of all the other schools we raced, I finished a really good book called Cinder, I redid my room (yes, again) and ordered some cuuute things for it, and to top it all off Taylor Swift’s re recorded album of Fearless came out. As if this week wasn’t already going great! Her album has a lot of new tracks added to it, and I think my favorite new songs are Mr. Perfectly Fine, and Bye Bye Baby. So good!


Anyhow, today’s post is all about ✨productivity✨. I hope everyone’s having a good weekend before TCAP- which is what I’m going to just chat about today. So earlier in the year, I was a virtual student. Basically for the first quarter of the school year I was a virtual student. Looking back, I feel like virtual wasn’t that bad, and I think a main reason for that is because I was SUPER productive. I’m talking waking up at 6am even though I had nowhere to go productive. However, then I started going to normal school, and then we went hybrid. During that time I was so unmotivated to do school. The mindset I had from before had vanished. I started becoming lazy and doing school work in bed...and it had a really big impact on my productivity. This around November, btw. Later, around New Years, I realized I really needed to change my ways. Since then, I have been able to get so much more done with these tips that I’m about to share with you. (But don’t get me wrong, I still live in my pajamas on the weekends 😂)


TIPS ON HOW TO GET STUFF DONE:


  • If you know the next day you’re going to have to get a lot of things conquered, I would advise planning ahead. This means perhaps scheduling your day (not down to the minute though, because that adds unwanted stress). Something you can easily do is pick out your outfit and set it out for the following day. I always do this on school days so I’m not rushed to pick out something decent in the morning. (You should complete your homework, and make lunch the night before too if you don’t have much time in the morning). In addition, doing something the night before has been proven to impact the tone of the next day. This is why I really like to read before I sleep on most nights.


  • Obviously if you’re day is going to be crammed waking up early can be effective. Just make sure you’re doing what’s right for your body. If you don’t want to wake up super early, take that extra rest.


  • Now the first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is drink water. I always keep it on my nightstand table, because water is very beneficial to activating your brain and waking you up. Not only that, but being hydrated is always a good thing and water helps you focus at school.


  • Like I said before, planning your day out can be very helpful. If this interests you I would highly recommend using google keep. It’s free, online, and perfect for organizing your to-do lists. With google keep, you can type things you have to do and even reorganize them if something comes up (which would get annoying if using normal paper, plus it’s better for the environment.) Google keep also gives you the satisfaction of crossing things off while allowing you to use bright colors to keep your day fun and aesthetic.


  • Also, studies have shown that by accomplishing a simple task in the morning, like making your bed or getting dressed, can have a huge impact on your productivity level that day. By waking up and getting something-anything- done, you are convincing your brain to get into a achieving mindset that will change your day.


  • The next thing is of course, eat a healthy breakfast. You are more likely to be capable of accomplishing things if you have had something to eat, as food gives you energy.


~So the next couple of tips are more designed for if it were a virtual day or simply a day at home~


  • If you are going to need to be working on a computer or other type of technology, I would advise investing in blue light glasses. Blue light glasses are glasses designed to block UV rays, which can be damaging to your eyes if you spend multiple hours on technology. In addition, staring at a screen for long periods of time can make you more tired, affecting your productivity level.


  • Get out of bed- Working in bed is so ineffective. After all, your bed is a place of rest and settling down. By choosing to work there, you are telling your brain it is sleep time and it will not want to get things done. I know it’s really comfy, but it is so much better to work at a desk or space designed for “working.” Set up that space and go there everyday for school work, and you will see an increase in your productivity.


  • So getting dressed is also another mind trick- at least, for me. Putting on jeans and an uncomfy shirt just screams school and gets me right into that *chop chop* mindset.


  • Now if you are going to be working at a desk, or work space, it can get boring. Something I recommend doing is switching up the scenery. Even the slightest shift can make you more excited to get to work. When I was virtual sometimes I would move to the bonus room or kitchen for just a simple change. Also, having a nice view- like in front of a window where you can receive lots of Vitamin C? D? Is really effective. Bonus points if you go outside!


  • And then there are times when you just feel. So. Un. Motivated. Don’t worry- I gotchu. Over the past year I have learned the Pomodoro method- which I love. The Pomodoro method basically says work for 25 minutes, then take a break for five minutes. Knowing that you will get a brain break at the end of the 25 will make you want to try harder while you are in the specific working time. Now say you do this 3 times. That’s 75 minutes of productivity and 15 minutes of break! This is so effective and makes me want to study.


  • If you are lost to what to do during your 5 minute break- here’s a tip. Don’t look to your phone. Turn away from the screen and instead try a yoga stretch or quick workout. This will boost endorphins and make you more accepting towards work.


  • Another thing I’ve come to love is study with me videos. When I watch a video of someone studying, it holds me accountable for my own productivity and I get much more done, especially since we are so accustomed to being in a classroom with a bunch of people around us.


  • If you hate working in silence, I recommend listening to music, but not anything with words. If a song has words you will want to immediately sing along (out loud or in your head) and that can distract you from the task at hand. Definitely try instrumental music, jazz, violin, or my favorite- Mario Kart songs. Lyla told me that listening to Mario Kart themes boosts productivity because it inclines you to go faster.


  • My last tip- put your phone somewhere you can’t see it. Whether that be in a drawer, under a pillow, etc...having your phone next you will be so distracting/tempating. Resist the urge- trust me, this works miracles.


As always, thank you guys so much for reading. I hope you got something out of this collection of tips that will provide useful. I wish everyone good luck on state tests next week! Love ya guys!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

what i’ve been watching! 👀

Howdy and welcome back to my blog folks I don’t know about you, but this summer has been so relaxing. I gotta admit, I have been nothing but lazy...and I love it. Most of my days consist of reading, s

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page