top of page

Savannah, GA Travel Diary | Blogtober Day 3

In this post I’m going to be telling you guys all about my trip to Savannah, and explain all the fun times I had there. I’m so grateful I got to go on this trip; I had so much fun, and I can’t wait to share it with you guys!


Day 1


Today was my favorite day in this spooky city, probably because it was the day I had the most energy lol. So little story time: The night before this day, aka Monday night, we arrived in Savannah around 11pm. I had just woken up from a (very uncomfortable) nap in the car. But here is the thing: we weren’t supposed to arrive in Savannah this night, in fact, we were supposed to leave early Tuesday morning. But we decided to be spontaneous and go earlier so that we would have more time in the most haunted city in the world. So on a whim my parents booked one night at a random hotel in Savannah and that was that. When we got there it was pretty dark, so I couldn’t see much, but I could tell Savannah was beautiful (more on that later.) The hotel we were staying at was cool, too. My first thought was: this place is old. And it was, but it was also sooo pretty. When we got inside, the hotel clerk said that he had a surprise for us in our room. Wondering what was in store for us, we walked along the wooden staircases and past the ancient furniture until we reached our room. The view was amazing. We were right on the river, and the lights from the building across from us reflected along the water. While staring out the window, my mom took a video of one of the lights outside flickering. None of the other ones were doing the same, which I thought was odd. After that, I took a shower and went to sleep, which was no easy task. The walls were bumping and making constant noise, while outside in the hallway, sounds of thumping and pounding of feet were keeping me awake. Eventually though, I was fast asleep. The next day, my first official day in Savannah, we got up early to take a walk along the river and explore a little bit. Now I think of Savannah from two different points of view: the coastal part and the historic part, which I wouldn’t see until later. However, I remember thinking the cobblestone streets were so cute as we walked to our first stop, an old and tiny restaurant called Two Cracked Eggs. It reminded my mom of an old sailor’s tavern, not to mention the food was DELICIOUS. Me and my sister got peach French toast to share, which was sooo good, while the eggs and bacon and biscuits were perfect as well. This was my favorite restaurant we went to, and I would definitely recommend! Around 11 we had checked out of our hotel and were on a trolley! This was when I got my first view of Savannah. The trees were so pretty, they hung down with moss, and the buildings were so old I wondered how this place even exists, for it was like a scene in a book. And that’s when I knew we definitely weren’t in Kansas anymore. Along the trolley ride we visited many stops, getting out at places we were interested in or we thought looked cool. In Savannah, there are SO many squares, or parks dating back to the 1700s. I think they’re so cool and if I go to college there then I can just imagine myself studying amongst the trees and benches and statues, because there are so many statues. We went to a coffee shop where I got apple cider, and the oldest running movie theater in the world! We even went to Forsyth park, and by it’s beautiful fountain we saw a couple getting married! One of my favorite places in Savannah that we visited was St. John the Baptist’s Church. If you think the outside is stunning, just imagine the inside. It honestly took my breath away, it was so pretty. I made sure to buy a postcard from there, but don’t expect anything in the mail because I am keeping it for ma self haha. 😂 After our trolley tour was over, we went to my absolute favorite book store in the world. It was so cute and had a great selection, even if the cats there are EVIL. Anyway I loved the string lights and crooked floors. E. Shaver Booksellers was really charming. And then before I knew it it was time to check into our Airbnb! Now, I knew our place was going to be pink, but it was REALLY pink. The theme was Rosè, so as you can imagine, almost everything was a shade of pink, and I LOVED it. 💕 My bed was literally huge and so comfy. But we couldn’t stay there forever, we had places to go and people to see. So soon, we found ourselves at the Pirate house, the oldest building in Savannah and home of a very yummy restaurant. (Pretty sure it’s haunted) After dinner we walked the other side of the river, where we got dessert from Savannah’s Candy Kitchen. And that was it for day one!


Day 2


This day was more of a coastal day, as far as scenery is concerned. We had just woken up from our first night at The Pink House, and I gotta say, my sleep was great, especially since there was so much room in my bed. 😴 For breakfast we had some apple cinnamon donuts, and then stopped at Savannah Coffee Roasters, where I got a chai tea latte. The chai wasn’t the best, but hey, I’m not complaining. After that, we were back on the road and headed to the beach! Once we got to Tybee Island, we immediately headed for the pier, where we got a beautiful view of the vast Atlantic Ocean. The water was too cold to swim in, so we ended up just walking along the shore and taking pictures. Now Tybee wasn't bad, but the place we went to next ended up taking the cake. It’s called Hilton Head, and it’s located in South Carolina. So now you’re probably wondering: Brynn, I thought you were in Georgia, how’d you get to South Carolina?? The answer is an extremely tall and scary bridge. But before I encountered this life threatening (not rly) moment, I had lunch. We went to this place called Zunzi’s, and their food was so good, but also confusing, because we really didn’t know what kind of food it was...Anywayyy, once we got to Hilton Head we ended up swimming in it even though it was the exact same temperature as Tybee. Hilton Head is really beautiful and cute and I definitely would love it if we ever went back there. So after we were done wading and such, we crossed the bridge yet again, and hurried back to Savannah so we wouldn’t be late for our GHOST TOUR at 7. Before I get into the details just think about the fact that I was on a ghost tour, at night, in the most haunted city in the world. Not to mention the anniversary of a battle in the American Revolution that took place in Savannah and killed many was coming up in 2 days. Spooky. That one word just about sums up my ghost tour experience. I’m not going to spoil anything for anybody, but the stories were so creepy, as we walked from haunted house to haunted house, and then finally the cemetery. I definitely recommend this tour though I’m not sure what it’s called, it’s basically the only walking one and as far as I’m concerned it’s the BEST. The narrator was a great storyteller and made the whole experience very spooky and fun. But it wasn’t until I got home that I realized just how spooky things were going to get...for when we were at The Pink House earlier that day my mom was reading a book about the most haunted places in Savannah from the house’s collection when she stumbled upon a story about the River Street Inn. Now I don’t know if I mentioned this before but I stayed there on the night before day 1. Turns out, a ghost named “The Monopoly Man” roams the halls. So were the flickering lights and thumping just a coincidence? I think not! Comment below: would you ever KNOWINGLY stay at a haunted house? Seriously I’m still getting goosebumps while writing this lol.


Day 3


Could my time at Savannah get any better? I remember wondering. And to answer my question, it did! For breakfast we stopped at a quaint little diner called Clary’s that had amazing stuffed french toast, and then we were ready for even more Halloween fun. We had heard of this famous cemetery called Bonaventure that we wanted to check out, if not for it’s publicity on the covers of books then for it’s beautiful statues. When we got there we were not disappointed! It’s hard to imagine, but there was something really pretty about the statues that adorned the cemeteries’s grounds. But maybe that’s just me. After that, I guess you can say we went on a bit of a shopping spree, though we didn’t buy much. (I’m so broke lol) Savannah has an amazing outdoor mall of sorts, with millions of cute shops around every corner. They even had a macaron cafe that we just had to stop at. So you can imagine that my little black backpack was my best friend during this trip, and it might as well have been Mary Poppins’s bag, because for a bag so small it held so much. Okay so before I go into another tangent about my backpack, let’s get back on track. Some of the stores we perused were the Copper Closet, my new favorite store, Urban Outfitters, The Paris Market, and this cool one called Starland Strange. I definitely recommend checking out their shopping center, even if you have to walk a lot. Speaking of, by 2 we were pretty tired, so we all reached a consensus that we’d go home and take a quick nap before our last stop of the day: City Market. City Market was a really cute little square (told ya they have a lot of those) with restaurants and shops, like the famous Byrd’s Cookies, which we of course stopped at. Now I imagine gooey, big cookies when I picture famous cookie places. But this one was unique, and I’ll give them credit, their mini cookies were so good, plus the fall scent they were lighting was the BOMB. By this time it was getting late, so went settled in at The Pink House by watching Curious George: A Halloween Boo Fest and eating cookies before bed. This was basically our last day in Savannah, because the next day all we did was eat donuts at this place called Rise and drive home for 12 hours. (Not kidding, the traffic was THAT bad)


So that’s it for my trip to Savannah, Georgia. This was one of my favorite vacations ever, and I’m so grateful I had this opportunity. I’m also really glad I wrote it all down here so that I can always look back on these memories that I love SO much. I definitely think Savannah is a city I would consider living in. I really enjoy the small town vibe as well as the pretty architecture and cool places to visit. Of course, the haunted part is a little bit iffy...but overall this city is amazing and yeah give it a try the next time you’re in town!


Hope everyone liked this post, if you did, give it a heart, and I hope everyone is having an amazing October! Can’t wait for Halloween! So that’s all for today guys, see you later!

15 views1 comment

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

Š2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page