top of page

summer 2021 glow up plan

Hey hey hey everyoneeee


Welcome back to my blog! In today’s post, I’ll be explaining my glow up plan, for anyone who’s curious. It’s July, which means one month of summer left. I know, sad. But I’m going to try to make the most of it! One way to do this is to focus on my goals. I feel like I have fallen off track a bit since the beginning of summer, and so by writing this post it’ll be a little reminder for myself!


When people say they want to “glow up” they may have different self improvement goals in mind. In my summer bucket list post, I talked about how I wanted to glow up. Now I’m going to explain what that means to me, and how I want to improve before high school.


Before I get started, I wanted to have a little real talk. At the beginning of summer, I was formulating my glow up plan, and I was looking at Pinterest for inspo of what other people were doing and how they were going to glow up, or be “that girl.”


I think the “that girl” trend is so toxic. At first, I supported it one hundred percent. I was thinking, oh yeah, I want to be that girl who’s always chasing her dreams and hustling and is all around productive. I used ideas of what a “that girl” should look like, to make my own plan. The thing is, all the versions of girls I was seeing were fake. It disheartened me because I was constantly thinking that these girls were so productive, they were always doing things and accomplishing stuff and it made me feel lazy if I didn’t always tackle my own goals. The thing is, we don’t NEED to be productive all the time. I don’t think “hustle culture” is always healthy. Sometimes we just need to take a break, you know? It doesn’t make us lazy. Sometimes we need to live in the moment. Have fun. Just live. We’re not machines. This is an example of how comparing yourself to others is self destructive. Especially when the girls I was comparing myself to, only showed one portion of their life. That doesn’t necessarily mean they are productive all the time.


I always put so much pressure on myself to succeed. It’s like I’m constantly myself’s own criticizer. It’s so dumb because it adds all this worry and pressure onto myself that isn’t necessary. The bible specifically tells us to not worry. That God has our life in control. I heard this thing at camp, from a speaker who was actually talking about how toxic social media can be. The speaker said, “God is the ultimate judge.” And that resonated with me. Because, why am I judging myself with worldly concepts, like am I productive enough, when I’m already enough for God?


So to wrap up that thought, this glow up plan is not something I’m following strictly. It’s just a list of things I personally would like to improve on for my own happiness. :)


GLOW UP PLAN

Basically, my goals are centered around three categories. These categories are...


Self Care:

  • Drink 8 glasses of water a day. This is the amount of water a person is supposed to drink in a day, and last year around this time I was doing really well with that. I think it made me healthier, and it gave me less headaches.

  • Experiment with some new smoothies! I really want to try some new ones and hopefully gain some new recipes before school starts.

  • Learn new hair/makeup styles


Mindset:

  • Positive affirmations every day. Affirmations are something I recently got into, but I really enjoy them. Basically I have this bowl and every day I pull out a slip of paper and on that paper will just be inspiration for the day. It puts me in a positive and happy mindset, so I want to incorporate them more often.

  • Meditate as often as possible. I love meditation because it makes me calmer and has a noticeable difference on how my day goes. I will admit, it takes more time and energy than affirmations do, and that’s why I said as often as possible and not every day. I would like to meditate frequently though!

  • Journal consistently. I have five main journals that I use on a daily basis. That may seem like a lot, but each serves a different purpose. My bullet journal I use for tracking habits, such as the ones I’m listing right now. My planning journal is where I store my goals for each week, my calendar events, etc. My gratitude journal is used for starting each day with a thankful heart. My prayer journal is for writing down my prayers to God. And lastly, my self care journal is mostly writing prompts centered around...self care. Lyla got it for me, shoutout 😙 I really want to spend more time in these journals!

  • Take breaks from technology. This one is pretty self explanatory, but screen time can be overwhelming and just overall bad for you. I really want to not use my phone on designated days.

  • Listen to podcasts. I love podcasts, and I have some self improvement ones that might be useful when I go on walks or something like that.

  • Make reading the Bible my priority. Like I said before, God should be number one always, and so I really want to make Him my focus. <3


Workout:

  • Run at least two times a week. Right now I really want my workout focus to be on running. It’s so good for my mental and physical health, plus, I want to keep it a habit until track starts again.

  • Yoga before running. Yoga counts as my stretching before runs, but that’s not exactly why I love it. Yoga gets my body active and relieves lots of tension.

  • Volleyball as often as possible. I’m not really worried about volleyball, because I’m about to play in the fall, but I would like to make sure I’m not rusty before then.

  • Workout each week. My main workout focus is on my abs and glutes. I have this one workout for each that I do pretty often and that I’d like to keep doing.

  • Walk Milo at least twice a week. I’ve gotten so bad about walking him, but I know that walks are good for both of us, so I really need to start doing that more.


So yeah, this is my plan! Like I said, this isn’t something I’m going to be super hardcore about. For example, say I only walk Milo once a week. That isn’t something I’m going to be upset over. After all, summer is supposed to be full of making fun memories. I’m going to make sure I live in the moment more!


Hope you guys enjoyed this post and got some ideas. Thank you so much for taking the time to read, I’m really grateful! Love yaaaa✌


Current fav song: Blackout by In The Heights Cast



24 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All

(っ◔◡◔)っ brownie in a mug recipe

Helloooo everyone and welcome back to my blog! In today’s post I’m going to be talking about a new recipe I recently tried! It’s been a while since one of my recipe posts, but the other day I had an i

Subscribe Form

Thanks for submitting!

©2020 by brynn michaela. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page